1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lecson DVD 1000

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Pooon, Jan 2, 2003.

  1. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +722
    Does anyone know for certain what type of progressive scan the player outputs? Is it PAL or NTSC?

    Or anyone know where i can find out?:p
     
  2. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    yes it will but its crap! I owned one and took it back, it uses an NDSP chip which is useless.

    Go for quality like the Philips 963sa, or maybe the Limit being sold by RS.
     
  3. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i returned mine because it was crap and got a philips 962sa.
     
  4. dejongj

    dejongj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had three players, well not at the same time of course, and returned them all because none would work with progressive scan....

    I have waited, and waited and waited on the Philips 963SA, still not there and I bought last week a Limit 9900SE for £199 which is absolutely superb.

    Cheers,

    Jean-Paul
     
  5. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +722
    Cheers for replies, but you havn't answered my question. Does it output NTSC or PAL progressive scan?, i think its NTSC, am i right?

    Also would it help if i set the player to region 1 instead of Auto?:p
     
  6. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
     
  7. Nike

    Nike
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    bournemouth, UK.
    Ratings:
    +17
    I seem to remember (do a forum search to check though) that this player outputs 480p for NTSC and PAL; So it's converting PAL>NTSC rather that outputting true PAL progressive.

    Oh yes, & it wasn't very good:D not much help if you have one already...
     
  8. dejongj

    dejongj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The answer was don't know as none of my three could output progressive scan at all. It is supposidly able to do both 480p and 575p....But never got it to work...

    JP
     
  9. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    Right, this player dose! output progressive pal, 625p was shown in the menu on my AE100 projector, if you get 576p or 625p its progressive pal. But it offers a very poor progressive image.
    Take a look at an earlier thread here take a look at my first post on the second page.

    ps. NTSC played as prog pal :confused:
     
  10. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +722
    As you say Timh, not a lot of good now that i own one, and i cay take it back to get my money back as it was paid for with vouchers. Looks as though the player is fubar, so i will have to get another one.

    Unless any one could suggest a solution, the TV i am connecting it to is a Toshiba 32ZD26, are the player and TV compatible?, i think they should be!. But the Picture does not come out right, top 1/3 is blurry and screen goes blank every 30seconds!!!:p
     
  11. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    iamtheone,

    Take it back and exchange it for anything at all, its useless as a dvd player, it doesn't do what it says on the box.
    i can't believe Debbenhams are still selling this player, countless people have taken it back.
     

Share This Page

Loading...