Question Leaving Hisense Behind for a Sony?

Discussion in 'What Is The Best TV For You?' started by mcfizzle, Nov 21, 2017.

Tags:
  1. mcfizzle

mcfizzle
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Everyone,
    I've been using an Hinsense 50" for the past two years and it's okay for true 4k content but has really terrible upscaling! I recently was impressed by a friend's new screen - a Sony KD43XE8369 - so I'm thinking of upgrading to that to get better upscaling and HDR (I'll also be using it for PC gaming). Do you think that's a good jump or is there something else around the £650 mark that would be a big step up from the Hisense?

2. Dodgexander

Dodgexander

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,360
    When reviewers often laud at Hisense's good upscaling then I doubt getting a Sony now will be much better than getting a new Hisense.

The XE83xx series also uses IPS panels so you'll get worse contrast and blacks compared to a modern Hisense.

Not sure which model you have but it also probably uses a VA type panel so it will probably even have worse blacks and contrast than your current TV.

With £650 to spend better value would be found going for the Sony 55XE70xx series or Hisense 55N6800. XE83xx is really, really overpriced.

3. mcfizzle

mcfizzle
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey Dodgexander!
    Thanks so much for your really helpful response!
    I have a Hisense LTDN50K321 from Nov 2015 and I can't say I'm hugely impressed with it. Lots of judder on all content types even with the fancy stuff turned off.
    I quite liked the Sony my friend has at has triluminous, plus x-motion, and is 400hz (motion).
    Given all this do you still think the Sony XE700 and Hisense you mention would be a good step up?
    Many thanks!

4. Dodgexander

Dodgexander

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,360