1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LE26R41B versus the new LE27T51B

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by wooky42, Oct 4, 2005.

  1. wooky42

    wooky42
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Barnstaple
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone have any 'inside' info on the LE27T51B? is the 'T' a new screen. Any pros and cons on the 27" version vs the 26", I'm waiting on the 27" having pre-ordered it already.

    There's very little out there on the LE27T51B, Samsung UK as usual have not heard of it, the manual is available on the Samsung Corporate site, I quite like the look of it, but am I missing some fundemental feature it's lacking?

    Wooky
     
  2. gahh100

    gahh100
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    The sammy LE27T51B also caught my eye as a cheaper alternative to the 26" LE26R51B/41B etc. Looking around the web the german samsung site seems to have the most info and as far as I can make out the made difference is DVI-HDCP rather than HDMI (which i think is fine since i'm looking for no-hassle pc connectivity, and i read that using an hdmi-dvi converter results in some clipping but i'm not sure about that), and no SRS TruSurround XT. Plus there is something about 10bit processing for the LE26R51B, don't read german :(

    At £549 vs £660 I think the LE27T51B looks like a bargain for those who want a HD LCD from a big brand and can do without HDMI and can live with an all black TV.

    Unless I change my mind in the next few days i think i'm going to order one on payday!

    Graham
     
  3. wooky42

    wooky42
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Barnstaple
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Manual is available on the corporate site and it does say no PC Function on DVI, that put me off a bit.

    I was told the LE27 was now exclusive to a UK major retailer, so that was one reason it disappeared for the DigiUK website.

    I ended up with the LE26R41 as the delivery dates kept being put back on the LE27.

    The LE26 was £588 for HomecinemaTV, the price on the LE27 looks good however, who was that with?

    Wooky
     
  4. gahh100

    gahh100
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The price of £549 is with komplett.co.uk

    Rereading the manaul i spotted the "DVI does not support PC function" point. Thats Cheeky! Cheers for the headsup
     
  5. RockySpieler

    RockySpieler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,659
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Snaking the Lineup
    Ratings:
    +116
    DVI still "probably" accepts PC at 720p or 1080i which some gfx can output.

    It may be the case that the EDID table is not complete, this may be over come using Powerstrip. The VGA mode of the existing 41/51 series Samsungs has been reported on these forums to be extremely good 1:1 pixel mapped.

    Another possibility is that the DVI socket is just digital DVI-D and not a DVI-I which allows both Digitial (DVI-D) and analogue (DVI-A), this could be likely as it has a separate VGA socket, and I have not read any posts of DVI-A being input through the HDMI socket on existing 41/51 series (with DVI to HDMI adapter, only posts using PC via DVI-D through HDMI, and the users prefered VGA PQ).

    Just have to wait to see any feedback on this cheaper model. I actually have a DVI upscaling samsung DVD player, so the DVI would be useful. But my main requirement is that I run 2 PC's off my TV (currently one DVI-A and one DVI-D).
     
  6. gahh100

    gahh100
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good points there rockyspieler.

    It may be the "DVI does not support PC function" is there to indicate that if it's just a DVI-D connection a pc hocked up using a VGA - DVI adapter would not work (since the signal would still be analogue).
     
  7. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    anything further on this model - PC connection oer DVI etc - the extra 1" in size would be nice (26 being a bit small, 32 to big for viewing distance we will have)

    cheers
    Gary
     
  8. leeb

    leeb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    880
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Melton Mowbray
    Ratings:
    +52
    The T models aren't meant for the UK market.
     
  9. PSMad

    PSMad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got the LE27T51B and am a bit worried now. Try as I might I can't find anything to do with 720p on the TV and don't know how to test it. I would have gotten the LE26R41B but the shop I went to didn't have it in stock. he whole reason i got the TV was so that I could play Xbox 360 games at 720p and if the TV I have doesn't support it that makes it rather useless.

    Luckly the store is happy to echange it for the LE26R41B when it comes in but just wondered if I needed to.
     
  10. japenger

    japenger
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, don't want to hijack this thread but I am also looking at buying this TV but need to know one thing, Does it have audio out?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  11. nealgs

    nealgs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    anyone else have the 27T model?? it does seem a reasonable compromise between price/size.

    am tempted at play.com price of £549 as looking for a reasonably size display, hd ready at a good price.

    Have about £1000 to buy display, wall bracket, hi-fi rack, cables etc but obviously would prefer to spend less :)

    Gary
     
  12. BeSh

    BeSh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey im pretty sure the tv has a vga plug so u can plug a pc/360 in tht way
     
  13. cassidy

    cassidy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    to test it you need to plug in something that outputs 720p. So either connect your PC via the PCin VGA socket. Or connect a 360 using the component or VGA connection. I'll be connecting my PC up to it once it arrives, and I'll try some 720p trailers. Other than that, I'm having to wait till xmas day for my son to receive his 360 which I will be using 720p on. I will be connecting a GC upto it via component once the leads arrive so I can test 480p Resident Evil 4 in a couple of days. I'll let you know about that as well.

    Your worrying over nothing though its the exact same specs as the LE26R41B bar the HDMI connection so it does do 720p honest :)
     
  14. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    I was looking at the 23T51B which seems to be the same thing but smaller, I take it then there's no VGA input? That's one of my main requirements
     
  15. cassidy

    cassidy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    well it has PCin which is DSub and thats just a VGA connection, its the exact same connection on my GFX card Radeon 9800 pro. Same as on the LE26R41B.

    Its exactly the same around the back as the LE26R41B bar HDMI, my mate confirmed this as he was checking the manual over with me last night to make sure i have all the necessary leads :)
     
  16. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    Wasn't sure if they meant the PC input was DVI.

    If the 23" has a DVI (HDCP) input and can do 1280x720 via VGA then I'm definitely interested. Do you have the 23" of the 27"?
     
  17. internetuser

    internetuser
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3,433
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +247
    so are people still happy with this ?
     
  18. Ripco

    Ripco
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi need help regarding this TV Samsung LE27T51B. I bought one and received it today. Changed my settings on my pc as stated in the manual. Connected it using my existing monitor cable. Press the pc button and the pc image appears fine then stays for a few seconds and then says check signal cable. Change channel and change back and again the signal is back then goes after a few secs. Please help.

    :lease:
     
  19. Ripco

    Ripco
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3
    Anyone?
     
  20. Ripco

    Ripco
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3
    HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :lease:
     

Share This Page

Loading...