1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LCD VS DLP projector

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by wes2008, Oct 13, 2004.

1. wes2008

wes2008

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

From my understanding is that DLP produces better picture quality than the LCD projector. But on this forum I see a lot of people favour AE700 LCD projector. I am a newbie as I am still searching for a projector. Can someone please share some light as to why AE700 is so popular and why people going for LCD over DLP?

2. LV426

LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,907
    The primary reason for avoiding DLP is the rainbow artefact. This only affects some people and those who aren't affected can be wholly happy with their purchase. However those who are can be anywhere between passively aware of it and actually nauseated. For this last reason, then, I'd say it is hugely important to ensure that you (and anyone else who will share your hobby with you) aren't going to be so affected. Not all DLPs are the same so look at the one you intend to buy.

The primary reason for avoiding LCD is that traditionally, they have had problems showing dark areas - these tend to be grey. However newer models (Panasonic 700 and the forthcoming Sony - see HomeCinemaChoice's news page) have contrast levels to contend with the best that DLP can offer. This effect will never be unsettling (as rainbows may be). Another areftact of LCD (less so with DLP) is the visibility of the pixel grid structure - referred to as chickenwire or screendoor, and, again, with newer models, higher pixel counts and other techniques mitigate against this.

3. theritz

theritz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hi and welcome to the forums.....