1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lcd Tv Resolution + Connectivity For Digital Photos

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Van Cortlandt, Jun 4, 2005.

1. Van Cortlandt

Van Cortlandt

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I’m a nervous newbie about to buy his first 32” LCD TV (£1200 to £1500?) – and this forum has been a huge help. But there’s a key bit of advice which I’d still welcome. As well as watching DVDs and terrestrial TV, I’ll be using the unit for digital photo slide-shows. I expect to burn these to DVD-Video using ProShow Gold (or similar). But what do I need to look for when choosing a TV for slide-shows of the best possible quality?

a) I’m told that DVD-Video has a max resolution of 720 x 576 (PAL). So will slide-shows will look pretty much the same on any of today’s LCDs, since they all have a higher resolution than I’ll be able to input?

b) Would component rather than scart connectivity make any difference?

c) Since these will be still images, does progressive scan capability matter at all?

d) Am I right in assuming that, when DVDs go HD, I could – potentially – send much higher resolution images from a next-generation DVD player to my LCD TV and thus get much better slide-shows? If that’s the case, would I be crazy not to buy an HDMI-connected TV now? Or would a high-res HD-capable TV, but with component rather than HDMI inputs, do the trick? (I’m particularly talking about the Panasonic TX-32LXD50: its price is falling fast because an HDMI replacement is imminent, and its manual claims that it has an HD display which can handle 1080i and 720p via component.)