LCD tellies...any good? This looks a bargain?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by brotherbear, Aug 23, 2004.

Tags:
  1. brotherbear

    brotherbear
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was going to buy a plasma TV but have now started to look at LCD's.

    This one looks pretty good and seems a very good price:

    http://www.richersounds.com/index.php?f=itemdetl.php&p=302308

    I have seen that John Lewis stores sell this same set for £5495 but you get a free 13-inch LCD too:

    http://www.johnlewis.com/Shopping/P...visions&PRT=Televisions&Type=SKU&Id=230198570

    I wonder whether they would match the Richer Sounds price AND include the free set along with 5-yr warranty? What do you think?

    I heard that LCD's do not suffer screen burn like plasmas? True or false? It seems to me that plasma's are not the way forward for TV's and that LCD will be the dominant technology.
     
  2. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,852
    LCDs do not suffer permanent damage from static images. Some LCDs do suffer from a persistent latent image (very dim, barely perceptible) but this is always temporary and disappears with the next "refresh" of the picture content. I only mention it because there is another forum member who insists that this artefact is screen burn; it isn't. Screen burn is permanent, and occurs only on phosphor-based technologies. LCDs aren't phospor based.

    Somehow, I doubt you'll get JL to match on those terms; price matches are typically for like offers. You can but ask, however.
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    You'll probably get warranty if local RS has it in stock.
     
  4. Tony8377

    Tony8377
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
  5. TheBoingoBandit

    TheBoingoBandit
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    779
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +26


    It's not screen burn, but when it happens it is VERY noticable and very, very irritating.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    "Residual latent image" i think is the technical term and it can be as bad as screen burn!
     
  7. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,852
    With respect, it can't be as bad as screen burn. Because screen burn (as applicable to phosphors) is permanent, and can only be corrected by "ageing" the remainder of the screen to the same extent as the area damaged by a static image (eg a logo). Unless and until this is done, it will remain visible depending on image content.

    Whereas, the latent image which some LCDs exhibit fully corrects itself the next time the image contains something different (other than black).

    In other words, the one is permanent, the other is short-lived.

    No comparison.
     
  8. Hicksy

    Hicksy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As far as i am aware, as long as you don't continue watching a 'logo'd' channel for more than 2-3 hours at a time, there should be no probs.!
     
  9. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,852
    At the risk of sounding like a stuck record.....

    With an LCD you can watch a logo'd channel all year, without causing any permanent damage.
     
  10. Hicksy

    Hicksy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry, typing and speaking on the phone never works!

    I missed the point briefly!! Soz
     
  11. brotherbear

    brotherbear
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys...sounds like LCD is the better choice.

    The more I look at this set, the more I like it. Loads of connectivity options...more than any other set I've seen I reckon. And I'm starting to think that 42 inches is just TOO big for normal viewing. Every 42" I've seen shows up lots of artefacts from digital TV.

    I already have a freeview box (pace twin) but I like the thought of the set having a built in freeview tuner. Coupled with the pace twin I'll be able to watch freeview without the twin being on. Will only need to use it when recording. Even if a TV has freeview built in you still need to buy a seperate freeview box if you want to record one channel whilst watching another. And then you'd need to buy a HDD/DVD recorder and set the timers on both to record whilst you're out. With the pace twin it's easier.

    Also, I notice this set lacks DVI/HDMI. Would I be missing anything without this? Is component progressive scan as good? Would I really notice the difference?

    And I see the resolution of this set is 1366H x 768V. So is it high-definition ready? Is high definition available via the component input? I thought you could only get hi-def via the new DVI/HDMI?

    Be good to know.
     
  12. Hicksy

    Hicksy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good points. If I have Dvi inputs, does that make my display HDTV ready?

    Bit confused and is prob a simple question! :confused:
     
  13. Rob20

    Rob20
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,107
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +665
    Component cables are able to deliver a hi-def signal. However, screen resolution doesn't neccesarily guarentee that the set will accept hi-def as according to What HCC, Panasonics 32" TX lcd that has a res of 1280 by 768 wouldn't accept a high def signal of 720p, or 1080i. Though I'm sure What Hifi Sound and Vision said it was able to!? Best check before hand.
     
  14. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,312
    I think it would be able to accept 480p, 720p AND 1080i. The only thing is, if the resolution is higher than that of the panel - in this case 1280x768 (so it sounds like 720p would be possible) - then it will simply be scaled down and you won't see the full benefit of the hi-res format.
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    some DVi sockets are only capable of 576p or 720p in certain displays! but 1080i over component........................ Go Figure!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice