1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LCD & Plasma Screen Calibration - DIY tools and procedures

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Bill4, Sep 25, 2004.

1. Bill4

Bill4

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hi,

I would like to calibrate the Loewe Xelos SL32 and the Pioneer 504.

I've read about how important proper screen calibration is, so I wonder what tools are available (and where to buy them from), and what advise (maybe procedures) can someone give me.

This would be a DIY job, so any pointers, links, sample pictures etc. would be appriciated.
    I have never done this before, and my new Xelos will be arriving on monday.
    The pioneer will be my next purchase (this is for the launge) about 3 weeks time. Enough time to play calibration on the Xelos.

Any help would be appriciated.

2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,808
    I'd go and buy AVIA guide to Home Theater and PAL Digital Video Essentials. Then spend a day watching them both to learn what all the patterns are for. After that you'll pretty much have the tools you need for the job. To do full calibration of greyscale and colour management/gamma requires expensive measuring equipment, knowledge and experience. With those discs however you should be able to make a significant improvement over out of the box set up.

Gordon

3. Orlando

Orlando

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    How much difference can you really make, using the Video essentials discs etc.
    I know on some screens you have a lot of adjustment, i.e you can separately alter red, green, blue etc. I own a Pannasonic Veira and you can only change, colour contrast and brightness.