1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LCD/Plasma + Games = ?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by sjallen, Sep 23, 2003.

1. sjallen

sjallen

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi.

I'm less a Home Cinema enthusiast and more a Home Gaming enthusiast. I currently have a 14" Sony Wega (great little TV). I have managed to save quite a bit of money though, and am really keen on getting a sexy tv. I am a student though, and as such space is at a premium.

What I'd like to know is this - what would you guys recommend to play games on? Is screen burn really a problem on plasma? Is blur really a problem on LCD?

The Phillips 30" LCD is appealing, as are the Sharp/Samsung offerings.

A 32" Plasma would be ok, 37" is probably overkill given the size of room the TV would be in.

Apologies if this has come up before, a few searches haven't really come up with much results!!

Thanks for any advice,

Steev

2. MAW

MAW
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +412
    Console or PC? There are some great new LCD's if it's PC, but they're maybe not so easy with consoles, you need a video friendly one, the Iiyama 32 would fit the bill but maybe not the budget! Unless you play the same game all day or leave the menu up and go to the pub, screen burn is not that likely with plasma, so a 32" bargain would be a reasonable choice. Can't think of a 32 you can drive at native res though, you need an LCD to do that in smaller sizes.

3. sjallen

sjallen

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd be using a PS2/GC/Xbox setup, and being a cretin I'd use the PS2 for DVD's :)

It would be a real bonus if I could stick my PC in to play Half Life 2, though it's not essential.