1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LCD outperformed Plasma on HD..WHY??????

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by sloopjohnb, Aug 9, 2005.

  1. sloopjohnb

    sloopjohnb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hitachi42pd7200 , Pioneer435fdete , Panny pv500 showing same HD feed as a Philips lcd 32" (no model no. :oops: )

    The lcd picture was much sharper,better defined with better contrast between blacks/whites (i'm a tv lay person you know).

    I have no axe to grind - I was ready to buy a plasma (just got my Halifax interest free for a year card!)

    Why oh why was this..any ideas...set up??

    Incidently I thought the lcd's on sd stuff also looker sharper on pic quality.

    Any thoughts or redirects to ppropriate threads welcome. :thumbsup:
     
  2. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626
    Where was this, did you look and play with the settings, if the plasmas were as good as you could get them and the LCD still looked better, then go for one of them mate, that is what it is all about, you need to buy the screen you like, not what everyone else says is best.
     
  3. sloopjohnb

    sloopjohnb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Giz... I guess that I've gotta make the decision myself - did'nt play with the settings.. comet (Torquay on w/e and Exeter today) does not seem the place to do it somehow.
    Difference was REALLY noticeable - thrown me completely..I wanted that big plasma!!
     
  4. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626
    Ask them for the remotes and stick each set on cinema mode and at least set all the picture settings to mid point and turn off any silly modes like dnr etc. etc. etc.

    This will give you a good starting point, judging a display in a store on the settings they have them on is like taking out a Porsche and not being aloud to let the handbrake off or go over 3000rpm, doesnt tell you much of what the car is really capabale of. Just ask for the remotes, tell them you are looking to buy and they won;t mind you having a play.
     
  5. sloopjohnb

    sloopjohnb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will try to sneek off work/kid duty in next few days and play with the settings to get a fair review.. dont want to dismiss plasma without a fair trial!
     
  6. Korum

    Korum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Ratings:
    +678
    Take a look at an LCD in a darker room if possible.LCD's look nice in bright rooms but where most people view Tv's in darkened living rooms the backlighting on LCD screens looks awful IMO.Watch a DVD with dark/black scenes and you get lots of artifical light around the edge of the LCD screen
     
  7. sloopjohnb

    sloopjohnb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interesting point korum.. I always shut out all light especially for films so I will follow that advice...I certainly have read lots of the negatives on lcd on this forum for months so that may be the answer.
     
  8. Korum

    Korum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Ratings:
    +678
    Yeah, I've got an X-black LCD monitor and it looks stunning until I dim the lights and play doom3 and then the lighting makes the blacks around the edge look milky-It totally spoils the game.Some LCD'S may have less intrusive backlighting but it's always going to be there.
     
  9. Enquirer

    Enquirer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You compared a 32" LCD to three 42" plasmas well maybe its the difference 10" makes.
     
  10. xx396

    xx396
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Uh because its a 32, its always going to look sharper. I noticed a Samsung LCD 32 looked much better than the plasmas near it but step it up to the LCD 40 and the plasmas looked better
     
  11. greeny

    greeny
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quite honestly, you can tell nothing from side by side demos in comet. Unless you get them to connect a DVD to each in turn you just won't be able to tell.

    They have their composite leads all linked together running all round the store past numeros power supplys and other things that interfear.

    Additionally, as said, the smaller picture makes it look sharper (hides the interfearance).

    That's not to say the LCD isn't better, I think they are getting closer to plazma all the time and I'd say in a few years we'll all be buying LCDs. They have advantages of slimness, weight and screen burn that plazmas cannot compete with.
     
  12. Korum

    Korum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Ratings:
    +678
    greeny,

    sloop said in his original post that they were all running a HD source so a composite linked demo loop shouldn't come into it unless he's getting confused with what was actually being displayed on the screens.
     
  13. greeny

    greeny
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry - missed that.

    I find this a bit strange then, though it still wouldn't suprise me if they had cocked up the connections.
     
  14. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626
    It is easy to get a Pioneer Plasma looking worse than a Tiny plasma.
    It is what they look like when set up properly that matters.
     
  15. Lionheart

    Lionheart
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi SloopJohn....if you are down Plymouth way you are more than welcome to have a look at my pv500 42" panny which i think is set up pretty much how it should be and pq looks wonderful...I have it set up with telewest digital tv and a Panasonic S97 dvd player via HDMI... if u can make it contact me at nh_lionheart@msn.com and I will give u the info u need and we can set up a time
     
  16. Sulis

    Sulis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just watch an LCD trying to show SKY if you want reassurance that plasma is still ahead for general purpose viewing. Really horrible!

    In the future I'm sure LCD will get better, but it also scales pretty badly (how much for a 50" LCD?). It will be interesting to see if SED or OLED technologies ever make it to mainstream.
     
  17. sloopjohnb

    sloopjohnb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to Lionheart for offer but it's unlikely that I can get to Plymouth.

    Thanks to all for replies .. looks like I need to do some more proper auditions

    Off to Spain soon so will have to wait for the big screen experiance - will avoid watching too many good films on my 32" crt until the new beast arrives which I suspect will be a plasma! :clap:
     
  18. k0rn

    k0rn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I´ve never seen a LCD outperforming any plasma. (even 1080 LCDs) :confused:

    When setting the PV500 up with HD feeds be sure to set the sharpness to 100%.
     
  19. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626

    Me neither, that is why I said have a play with the settings, but sharpness at 100%, halfway is no noise added and 100% is lots.
     
  20. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,029
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,583
    When Gordon had a look at mine, anything above 0 added noise, but it does look better on Freeview with added sharpness.
     
  21. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626
    Maybe the TV is different to the panel then, but 0 on the -10 to +10 scale is spot on with mine.
     
  22. mrm3

    mrm3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cobham
    Ratings:
    +94
    Also what are the resolutions of the displays(LCD and plasmas) and the source?
     
  23. k0rn

    k0rn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah you´re basically right.

    I`ve seen some nasty noise with some HD shows that look grainy. (e.g. "The Inside" has very grainy picture by design)

    But with 99% of the HD material (clean, good pictures) the 100% sharpness gives a much better picture...

    On the other hand, if you hook up your HTPC and look at the Windows Fonts with 100% sharpness you´ll get a grainy picture...

    It´s very much dependent on the source, I admit...
     
  24. shane977

    shane977
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey some good info, but can anyone tell me whether or not it has progressive scan? and if so how do I switch it on etc?:lease:
     
  25. Lin3ar

    Lin3ar
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6,215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,115
    Some very out of date info:smashin:
     
  26. audiphile76

    audiphile76
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Espoo, Finland
    Ratings:
    +303
    How did you search this thread that too after 3 years!!! I dont think any of this relavant anymore.
     
  27. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    14,029
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,583
    Still got my PV500 and still looks good. :smashin:
     
  28. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,526
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +544
    Not sure which screen you mean, the Hitachi perhaps?
     
  29. YellowSphere

    YellowSphere
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,448
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +471
    Generally, you shouldn't really have sharpness turned up at all for HD, it'll just obscure the detail with edge enhancement. Unless it's different with that particular television.
     

Share This Page

Loading...