1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LCD or Plasma ? HD Ready ?...Help !!!

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Stu247, Jun 15, 2005.

1. Stu247

Stu247

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good afternoon ladies and gents.. :hiya:

What should I buy ?? benefits of a Plasma over a LCD apart from cost per inch?

I would like either a 32" & 37"

This looks good value......

http://www.tvandvideodirect.com/product.php?xProd=1745&xSec=30

but have read mixed reports........

Is it truly HD Ready....

I don't want to shell out 1k odd for a screen only to wish I had bought a HD ready one a couple of years down the road..

Cheers.

Stu.

2. Phil from 62

Phil from 62
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Stu :hiya:

I'm no expert...but on visiting my Local expert AV store (not a high street chain) they tell me the decision between LCD v's Plasma is more about screen size requirments than technology as generally speaking the two technologies don't cross size boundries in any great way.

Basically upto 32" consider LCD over that consider plasma...sounds logical.
    (I believe there are a couple of 32" Plasmas, and some 37" and maybe larger LCD's...but these are not the norm or common place...yet anyway).

I would say that the average home would not need anything bigger than a 32" screen (otherwise it will take over the room and you will always be sitting too close and therfore never happy with the picture)...maybe that helps your decision.

3. Stu247

Stu247

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers Phil..

Yeah, I think 32" would be sufficient for my needs (will get the tape measure out when I get home) as I currently have a 28" CRT and that is ok.

I like the look of the Tosh and the fact that it is HD Ready (supposedly).
    The price seems hard to beat also.