1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

lcd monitor causing headaches?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by watchinthewheel, May 17, 2005.

  1. watchinthewheel

    watchinthewheel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi, i have just bought a 19" lcd monitor and it looks great but whenever i use it for a longish period (about an hour) i start to get a headache, my eyes are fine but my head hurts like hell. i upgraded from a 17"crt and never had this trouble even when i had been looking at the screen for several hours. has anyone here head of this problem or know anything i could do about it? i have tried changing the refresh rates between 60-180hz and there doest seem to be much of a difference.

    any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
     
  2. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    are you using it at it's native resolution? If not that could be the cause
     
  3. watchinthewheel

    watchinthewheel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    im not sure wqhat its native is i think its 1280-1024 and thats the res im using but im not 100% about that. what exactly does it mean if im not using the right res though?
     
  4. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,479
    Current LCD panels have very high levels of brightness & contrast. If you have Photoshop Elements, try running the Adobe Gamma calibration in the Control Panel.
     
  5. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,909
    LCDs are always best used at their native resolution. It will be in the specs. Any other, and the LCD driver has to scale the incoming matrix to fit the screen matrix. Use native and each pixel incoming equates exactly to one pixel on the screen.

    Oh, and whenever you change refresh rate or resolution, always re-do the monitor's setup routine. Auto usually does it.

    BTW - you don't have to use a high refresh rate on an LCD to avoid flicker. Any will do.
     
  6. timothyw

    timothyw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Messages:
    506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London W2
    Ratings:
    +29
    Its probably a simple case of turning down the brightness a bit, or adding a bit more ambient light to your room; LCDs can be a heck of a lot brighter than CRTs, and as such may look clearer, but can end up making your head hurt!
    Another thing to try is make sure you have cleartype turned on in windows XP: Go to http://www.microsoft.com/typography/cleartype/tuner/Step1.aspx and follow it through. This should make text a lot more readable, and so less likely to give you a headache.
     
  7. watchinthewheel

    watchinthewheel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks a lot for all your advice ill try out what you suggest
     
  8. mrmoo

    mrmoo
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    515
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Generally native resolutions for a 19" LCD
    1280 x 1024 @ 75 Hz analog
    1280 x 1024 @ 60 Hz digital
     
  9. watchinthewheel

    watchinthewheel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks a lot for the advice, i have got what it was.

    firstly i needed to use the auto feature a LOT more, as inm every time i do anything like play a game, write a document, browse teh internet, watch a video. every time i switch i have to use auto and it helps a lot.

    also the borightness was up really really high and i think that was doing my head too.

    thanks a lot, you have saved me a lot of headaches (literaly)
     
  10. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,909
    On most monitors, you shouldn't have to run auto setup more than once per resolution AND refresh rate value. I'd expect it to remember each setting, once set. In other words each first time you feed it a new signal type, run auto.
     

Share This Page

Loading...