1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LCD/DLP Question/Help

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by dazca1, Nov 13, 2004.

1. dazca1

dazca1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    I am totally new to projectors, dont own one(in the market though) and I'm sick of them already :(
    Like a lot of people on here I read the forum threads and reviews from the likes of PJ central. This has made my head spin.
    I have had different advice from a number dealers, one will tell me that DLP is what I need and the next will tell me that LCD has got its act together so I should get one of those.
    I need a projector very soon and need to know what to get.

My choices are (after my head stopped spinning, resolution, VB, rainbow and all that crap you have to take into account)
    Optoman H57
    Infocus 5700(at the right price)
    Sony HS50
    Sanyo Z3
    Now there are 2 of each type(DLP/LCD) What should I get?
    These are within my budget nearly.
    I know there are a couple which are not out yet but will be soon, I dont want anyone throwing into the mix what mybe coming out next year (dont want my head battered any more than it already is) just need advice on these :) .

Should I get the Z3 which will tide me over until the better highdef ready PJs become more affordable (2 years ish) or get something better now (are they better)
    I have seen both LCD and DLP running (none of mentioned exept 5700) and dont know how people can choose, they both look sh$t hot to me (suffer slightly with rainbow on 4x colour wheel speed, eg 4805 and non on 5700)

IMO people seem to worry about to much about nothing with regards to projectors, does anyone actually enjoy them? it seem that an awful lot have nothing better to do than slag them off.
    I dont know and dont care which is the better technology as the both look good to me.