1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LCD Backlight Uneven

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by David Mackenzie, Sep 14, 2004.

1. David Mackenzie

David Mackenzie
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    My Sony KLV26HG2 has a mildly irritating uneven backlight problem. Basically I get lighter patches in the top right, and less annoying ones in the top left and bottom right.

Is there anything at all I can do about this? For example would Sony accept replacements based on this or is it hard to avoid?

2. ogracer

ogracer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm no expert but from lcd computer monitors i've used, cheap and expensive, they suffer from this aswell. I think it has to do with globe positioning behind the panel.

3. hechizero

hechizero

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    How long have you had the screen running? Also, would it possible to post a pic of the problem. Normally on a "black" background you would notice different brightness levels in different areas, also dependent on viewing position though. Is there a manual backlight setting? This could help in adjusting the backlight for better viewing results.

4. David Mackenzie

David Mackenzie
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    I've not had the screen running for long at all, I only got it 4 days ago. Obviously it's a lot more noticeable against a black background and when the room lights are dimmed.

I'll try to get a picture.

5. LV426

LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,975
    It isn't likely to be the backlight; more probable is unevenness in the LCD's polarising filter. Quite hard to get them perfect and cost-effective at the same time, I guess.