LCD Backlight Uneven

David Mackenzie

Ex Member
Reaction score
My Sony KLV26HG2 has a mildly irritating uneven backlight problem. Basically I get lighter patches in the top right, and less annoying ones in the top left and bottom right.

Is there anything at all I can do about this? For example would Sony accept replacements based on this or is it hard to avoid?

i'm no expert but from lcd computer monitors i've used, cheap and expensive, they suffer from this aswell. I think it has to do with globe positioning behind the panel.

How long have you had the screen running? Also, would it possible to post a pic of the problem. Normally on a "black" background you would notice different brightness levels in different areas, also dependent on viewing position though. Is there a manual backlight setting? This could help in adjusting the backlight for better viewing results.

I've not had the screen running for long at all, I only got it 4 days ago. Obviously it's a lot more noticeable against a black background and when the room lights are dimmed.

I'll try to get a picture.

It isn't likely to be the backlight; more probable is unevenness in the LCD's polarising filter. Quite hard to get them perfect and cost-effective at the same time, I guess.

If it bothers you so much, and you bought it by Internet or Phone (Mail Order) then you could opt to use your rights under the Distance Selling Regulations - but be quick; you have seven days.

Choose a replacement and you might end up with one with an "acceptable" number of bad pixels instead; this would, I suspect, be much worse.

If it isn't hugely irritating, just ignore it.

Very well put advice, it's not really that irritating. Miraculously I have zero dead pixels on this, so I could do a lot worse.

How do you find games consoles on this screen? Better than a standard crt?
Im looking into buying a small lcd as the geometry on my tosh is sending me crazy! :suicide: