1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LCD advice - sharp or philips

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by du5t, Mar 24, 2004.

1. du5t

du5t

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I currently have a Sony KV32FX65 set that I have never really liked since the day I bought it.

Anyway, the time has come to ditch the CRT and buy an LCD screen. I'm thinking of a 30-32" unit. I have it norrowed down to:

Philips 9975
    Sharp HD4V
    Sharp AD1E

How does the picture compare between the Philips and the Sharp units? I know there is a new Philips unit due soon, but does anyone have any info on it?

What is the difference between the HD4V and the AD1E, is it just the addition of a digital tuner, or is the AD1E a newer and superior unit.

Apologies for the questions, I'm new to LCD!

Thanks in advance.

Matt.

2. JH4

JH4

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +212
  3. JH4

JH4

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +212
    Apologies - that should read 7th Feb, not 17th.

4. Messiah

Messiah

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +339
    Anyone know when this new Philips 32" is likely to be available. May just be the one I've been looking for for the bedroom. True 16:9 as well - Sweet :)

5. JH4

JH4

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +212
    Waiting for Philips to let me know when it's out, but the spec looks VERY good, with an improved contrast ratio, P+2, HDMI, flat speakers, true 16:9, etc.
    Pester them and they might tell you more !

6. Messiah

Messiah

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +339
    Well, I'm in no big rush (for once) so I'll hang on. Hopefully see it advertised soon. This looks like the one I'll be getting. Specs look pretty good.

7. du5t

du5t

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0