Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

LC32P50E - Backlight setting & sky remote

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by jabberwocky-, Oct 22, 2005.

Tags:
  1. jabberwocky-

    jabberwocky-
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South East
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi.

    When I turn down the back light setting to OFF, I have noticed my SKY remote then does not work.

    Shifting backlight backup to say half-way, the remote works again....

    I have SKY connected via EXT1 via RGB to SKY box tv out scart.


    Can anyone with a LC32P50E or similar model test this???


    (I have previously posted saying it was a problem with the sets EXT2 scart, but this definatly seems to be the poblem)
     
  2. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +292
    When you say turn Backlight to OFF, you mean turn it down to -8 don't you. In which case I've just done that and it didn't have any adverse effect on my Sky remote.
     
  3. jobseeker

    jobseeker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +89
    I have found that the OPC can cause remote problems in some situations. I have two 26" sets and the one in my bedroom had a problem with its own remote just stopping working randomly. When I swapped it with the one downstairs, the one I put in the bedroom had the same problem, but the one I moved downstairs was then fine. The problem obviously related to the location of the set and/or surrounding equipment. The cure was to switch off the OPC. Now, whether this is connected to the problem you describe, I don't know.
     
  4. captaindobie

    captaindobie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    592
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +21
    Since purchasing a SHARP LCD32GA5 earlier this year i have had problems controlling my SKY+ box. When switching the TV on, it takes a good 20-30 minutes before the SKY+ box responds properly (unless i have the remote 5cm away from the box!)
    I still have the same problem whether using the SKY+ remote or my Philips Pronto. I don't have OPC switched on and my backlight is set to (-4)
     
  5. jabberwocky-

    jabberwocky-
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South East
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yes, -8, seems its just my telly then..

    thanks for your help. though.

    Other than this its a great TV :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice