LC-32GA4E wall mounted - pics

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Judders, Nov 14, 2004.

  1. Judders

    Judders
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +0
    With the help of a friend, I wall mounted my new LCD y'day. I'm dead chuffed with the result, so thought I'd share them with you. :D

    If you're thinking about wall-mounting a plasma/LCD, I'd say do it! :thumbsup:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Stinky985

    Stinky985
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Nr Bath
    Ratings:
    +6
    exclellent job! how did you route the cables?
    Now, dont suppose you could tell me if it takes prog scan via component inputs could you? got one in a basket raring to go!
     
  3. Mike246

    Mike246
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Judders,

    Now that really does look mega. I am looking to do something similar.

    What mount did you use and does it tilt/swivel?

    How did you conceal the cables?
     
  4. amrypooins

    amrypooins
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Great pics- I too intend to mount my 32GA4E in a couple of weeks (when I get it!)- how easy was it to do? Was that the Sharp branded bracket?
    Another question to everyone really- due to layout of my room, I am having to mount my TV over the mantlepeice (temp is no problem) but will it feel ok to watch a TV that high up (about 160 cm up a wall)?
     
  5. Stinky985

    Stinky985
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Nr Bath
    Ratings:
    +6
    please... does this take progressive scan through component input? i want to order one before so i get it before i move - which is Friday!
     
  6. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    stinky the component video inputs are the main source for Hiddef progressive, its the DVI port that has problems with 1080i
     
  7. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,906
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +32
    It does.


    Looks terrific Judders. :thumbsup:
     
  8. Stinky985

    Stinky985
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Nr Bath
    Ratings:
    +6
    THANKYOU!!!!
    Before i press the 'proceed to checkout' button, anything i should know?!
    By the way a little step by step instruction of what you did to mount would be good if youre ever a bit bored...
     
  9. Skiny

    Skiny
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Very nice Judders :)
     
  10. Judders

    Judders
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the comments guys :)

    Stinky - sorry for not responding. Was having my dinner!

    The bracket I used is a Veda Z847 http://www.hifistore.co.uk/product.php?qsProd=Z847 it's just a simple flat bracket, but that's what I was after.

    It was a fairly straight forward job (2.5 hours total):
    1. Located battens in wall with an electronic gadget my mate had.
    2. Screwed a 700x300x6mm piece of MDF across two of the battens - level 'n' square. 5 x 2" screws into each batten.
    3. Fixed wall mount to MDF using 4 x 1 1/2" screws - again, level and square.
    3. Cut top/bottom holes for cables using a hole saw/drill.
    4. Painted MDF.
    5. re-routed Sky dish cables through downstairs toilet.
    6. Fed cables through.
    7. Connected DVD and Sky+
    8. Away we go! :D

    This is a brief summary, but it really wasn't a tough job. The lower hole needs to be finished (nice metal socket of some sort), but it's hidden behind the DVD etc at the moment, so no rush. I gauged the height by holding the TV against the wall, whilst my Mrs. and her friend sat on the sofa and shouted "higher...lower". Not very scientific, but it definitely worked :)

    There's another pic attached showing the MDF and bracket.

    HTH :)

    Jud
     

    Attached Files:

  11. scooby do

    scooby do
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,022
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
    looks great, have you managed to hook up a PC yet? Got one of these beauts on order and hoping that it can be run @ 1376 x 768 give or take. Please let me know. Also does your screen suffer from any faulty pixels( always lit or dead)? WHen I was viewing LCD's in Tottenham court road many had at least 6!!!
     
  12. Judders

    Judders
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, not one single dead pixel - so far.

    No PC yet. I need to get an RGB/DVI cable to hook up the PC. But you've made me think, it's gonna be a tight squeeze getting to the back panel now that it's on the wal!
     
  13. AzleaAnn

    AzleaAnn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to comment...I have another thread going re the Sharp L32GA3 which has the speakers along the bottom of the set..now I see yours I think I prefer GA4 !... and well done for mounting your Lcd at a decent height..I can't understand why a lot of people put it so high up above the fireplace..It would do my neck in :)

    Az
     
  14. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    b*llocks to the speakers get a 5.1 system to go with the screen
     
  15. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    Judders I am planning to mount mine on a plaster board wall too, is reinforcing really needed?

    also how did u come to or work out the right height for you
     
  16. Tenex

    Tenex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    7,632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,063
    I think the usual guide is your seated eye level should be 1/3 of the way up the screen.
     
  17. Tenex

    Tenex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    7,632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,063
    quick Q for anyone who knows: is the image in the first pic 16:9 resized for a 15:9 screen? ie. is it fullscreen there seems to be a lot of black? :lease:

    Gorgeous pic/setup....
     
  18. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1

    Well the specs on those Sharps are 1366x768, which is 16:9.. so i'd say that must be a 2.35:1 movie..
     
  19. Tenex

    Tenex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    7,632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,063
    ah ha - thanks for that. Wonder if it's worth waiting on the January sales or will a retailer with a decent 20% off come around? Decisions, decisions....
     
  20. amrypooins

    amrypooins
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5

    This is my only slight concern with my prospective set up- the only place for it is above the fire place.
    I have stuck a peice of paper up there to see how it feels/looks and its not too bad, I am sure I could get used to it, but I am wodnering if a tilting brakcet would be the way to go? Any advice?
     
  21. jimbob19

    jimbob19
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,543
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Dunstable
    Ratings:
    +50
    Tenex - I have bought the LC37GA3E (from empiredirect) and was worried about prices coming down in January - however buy it on Barclaycard and if the price comes down in January get them to price match up to £500 :)
     
  22. Judders

    Judders
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do plan to go the whole 5.1 route, but after splashing out £1200 for the TV, it's gonna have to wait!

    Personally, I wouldn't hang a 20kg TV directly onto a plasterboard wall, but then I'm a bit nervous like that! Anyone else out there put one straight onto a plasterboard wall??

    Re height - "I gauged the height by holding the TV against the wall, whilst my Mrs. and her friend sat on the sofa and shouted "higher...lower". Not very scientific, but it definitely worked"
     
  23. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    "I gauged the height by holding the TV against the wall, whilst my Mrs. and her friend sat on the sofa and shouted "higher...lower". Not very scientific, but it definitely worked"[/QUOTE]


    did u say "GGGood Game Good Game" afterwards :laugh:
     
  24. Judders

    Judders
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tenex, just checked the DVD box, it's a 2.40:1 movie - Charlies Angels - Full Throttle. I didn't even realise you could get a 2.40:1 movie!
     
  25. Judders

    Judders
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was tempted to make a 'nothing for two in a bed' comment, but they probably both would've slapped me :D
     
  26. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    you have got the sexy flat screen on the wall, and yer cant have everything!
    (unless a drunken christmas party goes pear shaped :rotfl: )
     
  27. Tenex

    Tenex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    7,632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,063
    Good point I got £498 out of them for a Panasonic 32" CRT last year :laugh:
     
  28. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,031
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +0
    Judders,

    How far does the unit stick out into the room, not including your MDF bracket that is.
     
  29. Judders

    Judders
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +0
    5 inches without the MDF but including the metal bracket.
     
  30. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +369
    how much does the bracket and mdf add, I cant really go more then 110mm from the wall the Sharp GD1e is 70mm deep
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice