1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

layer change on 963sa?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Sly, Jan 24, 2003.

  1. Sly

    Sly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    west mids,England.
    Ratings:
    +48
    whats the layer change like on the 963sa as i find it aint to hot on my tosh players?
     
  2. Sly

    Sly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    west mids,England.
    Ratings:
    +48
    anybody out there?
     
  3. miniroll171

    miniroll171
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I'll be getting a 963sa at the end of the week to go with my new pana projector :) I'll let you know then if no one else beats me to it

    Neal
     
  4. Sly

    Sly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    west mids,England.
    Ratings:
    +48
    thanks neal,that would be great.
    i have ordered myself now but have been told it might be a couple of weeks before they can get it for me.
    although i dont mind as they are a shop and are matching the lowest internet price i could find(308 quid)!
    if you could give me some info on what settings are best for a pj that would be great too.
    ta.
     
  5. WSquared

    WSquared
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    Sly,
    I would say the layer change on the 963 is very good for a player without a memory buffer specifically to reduce layer change time, such as can be found on many Denon players.
    The 963 is better than both the Nintaus 9769 and Skyworth 1050p players,(and an old samsung) but that is all I can compair with as those are what I have owned and I don't generally watch movies to the layer change on customers' machines. :) I am happy with it anyway.

    Cheers,
    William
    Precision Cinema
     
  6. TimF

    TimF
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Layer change is quicker than Tosh 520 if that is any help.

    All the best
     
  7. Sly

    Sly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    west mids,England.
    Ratings:
    +48
    thanks guys,great to get a bit of comeback!
    either of you know which settings are good for pj's?
    cheers.
     
  8. Mark P

    Mark P
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi sly,

    i wonder if you can point me in the direction of one of these beauties. my mates got one and its the muts nuts. i've managed to save up some hard earned cash and now i can't find one?
    helppppppp plesaeeeeeeee
     
  9. TimF

    TimF
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got mine from robertsons-online.co.uk for £308 including vat and delivery.

    It took a couple of weeks or so but was worth the wait!! - The staff there are very friendly and helpful but the phone line can get a bit busy.

    Cheers
     
  10. Mark P

    Mark P
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the quick response tim, i'm off to look into it.
    mark.
     
  11. WSquared

    WSquared
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    Sly, the settings appear to be very dependent on the projector you are using.
    Turn TrueLife down to 0 or 1 at most.
    Experiment with gamma and see how much detail you can get out of dar scenes compared to whatever you currently have.

    Cheers,
    William
    Precision Cinema
     
  12. Underscore

    Underscore
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sly,

    I only got my 963 yesterday but I found that Gamma -1 and True Life 0 - all other parameters default - looks good. This is with the Z1 have the default 'Cinema' setting but with 'Low' colour temperature, Green down a couple of steps and brightness turned up several notches - can't remember how many, done using THX Optimode. Picture now looks very good, though I will fine tune it when I've got my screen back - currently projecting on to an off-white wall!

    HTH,

    _
     
  13. Sly

    Sly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    west mids,England.
    Ratings:
    +48
    also regarding my sd100 player i get BAD jaggies on panning shots will the 963 do a better job of these?
     

Share This Page

Loading...