Latest Sky+ HD boxes-Digital Optical or Coaxial ?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by drumbeat, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. drumbeat

    drumbeat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Are the latest Sky HD Boxes a Digital Coaxial or Optical connection on the back ? Seems Amstrad may be the most common box being installed at present. Having mine installed Tues.

    Thanks
     
  2. dmaidmen

    dmaidmen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +73
    My Amstrad has both. The last Thomson I had didn't have the coaxial but I'm not sure if that was the very latest.
     
  3. mudstuff

    mudstuff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +412
    They should have both. I have a new Samsung box which is also very popular at the moment and that has both too.
     
  4. ratsalad

    ratsalad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Pace box also has coaxial and optical connections
     
  5. bobbytoad

    bobbytoad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +102
    I assume Sky do NOT supply any optical/coax cables at install?

    do Sky provide a HDMI cable?
     
  6. CJROSS

    CJROSS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    5,105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +343
    1) Nope
    2) Yes
    3) and a funky power plug with the Sky logo on it, handy amongst 20 other plugs behind your TV.
     
  7. bobbytoad

    bobbytoad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Ratings:
    +102
    oh cool! I look forward to getting the plug :thumbsup:
     
  8. GasDad

    GasDad
    Remembered (1964-2012)

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +758
    lol - us 'old timers' will now all be hassling sky for our free plug upgrades.
     
  9. mattclarkie

    mattclarkie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    11,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Real guitars don't have strings, they have 5 colou
    Ratings:
    +934

    I was upset when I heard they have now got a new style plug. Made me really sad.
     

Share This Page

Loading...