largest and most reliable hdd

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by jagdeepp, Sep 19, 2007.

  1. jagdeepp

    jagdeepp
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,436
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    AVshire
    Ratings:
    +551
    hey guys, i'm currently in silicone city (Singapore). I've discovered a place called Sim Lim Square which is pc heaven. See link: http://www.simlimsquare.com.sg/about/

    Looking to buy an internall hdd for my htpc which is currently as follows:
    The HTPC is based on the Antec NSK2400 case and has the following components:

    320GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA300
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=HD-078-SE

    Antec NSK2400 chassis in silver\black
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...d=7&subcat=160

    Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-110D in black
    http://www.pioneer.co.uk/uk/products...10D/index.html

    Intel Core2Dou 6300 CPU + Zalman CNP7000 Cooler
    http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/uk/5535...html?srcid=867

    ASUS P5B-VM mobo
    http://www.extremetech.com/article2/...2082149,00.asp

    XFX NVIDIA GeForce 7300GT 256MB PCI-E
    http://www.xfxforce.com/web/product/...=GeForce&tra de%3B+7300&productConfigurationId=303566

    Hauppauge WinTV PVR-150 PCI
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...=56&subcat=169
    ** NO remote with this card **

    HDA Digital X-Mystique 7.1 GOLD Sound Card
    http://www.hdaudiovisual.com.au/mcpc/xmgold71.htm

    BTC 9029URF Wireless Media Center Keyboard
    http://www.pcalchemy.com/product_inf...keyboard-24ghz

    Microsoft MCE Remote Control and Receiver
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Microsoft-Re...2006492&sr=8-1

    Corsair 2GB DDR2 XMS2 Dominator

    Windows Vista 32bit HP has been installed.

    Looking to put in another hdd for movie storage.

    The question is as per title and whether its risky putting in too large a drive. Also will another hdd comfortably fit in? guess the alternative is to take out the current one and replace it with a larger one though i'm sure i can fit in another. Any and all advice appreciated.. I'm looking at the 1 terrabyte + hdd's...

    Cheers guys! Trying to persuade swmbo to visit the complex today. :smashin:
     
  2. Zarch

    Zarch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +833
    Jagdeep,

    No single HDD is 100% reliable, if you cherish your data that much putting it on a single HDD is madness.

    if i was you i'd look for a 2 drive NAS device with the ability to mirror the disks for redundancy as a bare minimum. No point in storing all your precious data if theres a chance you could lose it with a single hard disk failure.

    yes, you lose half the storage of your 2 disks for the mirror, but its protected from failure.

    But if you want 1TB or above, you're going to have to look at 4 drive NAS devices with RAID 5 protection. 4 x 500gb = 2TB, with one drive for protection you're left with 1.5TB of usable (before formatting).

    Big storage and more importantly PROTECTED.

    Obviously the size of the drives is upto you. I've just ordered a Synology CS407e with 4 x 320gb for 900gb usable space after raid 5 and formatting.


    I know you wanted internal, but you are not going to get protection that way (unless you get 2 x 750gb and mirror them using your motherboard SATA chip).
     
  3. Peter314

    Peter314
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +36
    Timely advice. :rolleyes: I've just spent several days ripping Cds onto a 500 GB Seagate external drive. I went to bed last night leaving the system copying the latest rips from the internal HDD to the Seagate. This morning the system was posting warnings about read/write errors, and Windows Explorer proclaims that the rips directory of the external HDD is corrupt and can't be read. :mad:

    I had planned on backing up the Seagate either onto DVDs or onto another external HDD, but (of course) hadn't got round to doing either. :suicide:

    The Synology CS407e sounds like a good way to go, and one that iiuc provides automatic backup. Is that right? I will be using the rips with a Squeezebox via a wireless router. It would be nice to be able to access the files without having to have the PC switched on. Do you know whether the Synology enables this?

    Hope this isn't hijacking the thread - the info may be relevant to the OP!
     

Share This Page

Loading...