• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Large LCD Monitor for PC

holmesadam2009

Standard Member
Hey guys, I'm looking to buy a new LCD television that will be hooked up to my pc, all the time, and will be using it as my primary monitor, I Was thinking about getting 50" but generally looking for more info...Anybody got any pros/cons for an LCD of this size attachted to a pc...The graphics card I am using is a "NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT" Cheers in advance for any replies...

holmesadam2009.

holmesadam2009

Standard Member
It would be used for everyday computing, Text, graphics, videos, inet, everything really, I'm a Computer Science student so felt the geeky urge to have quite a big monitor...

Thanks for your response

anobium

The only lcd tv's in my opinion that do decent pc use are the samsungs, a lot of the other makes panasonic, sony use enhancments that cant be turned of and spoil the use of pc, not saying samsung are the best for tv watching as there are many better but for multi use you cant beat them.

Trimaxion

Standard Member
There is the Sharp LC46X8 (46") which is a nice tv for the price of £750 from richer sounds.
I have had Sharp Tvs in the past and I was very impressed with them for PC/Consoles, not so much SD, but for computers they are fantastic.
Other brands such as Samsung and Sony are at least £200 more and not that much better really.

Nielo TM

Distinguished Member
It would be used for everyday computing, Text, graphics, videos, inet, everything really, I'm a Computer Science student so felt the geeky urge to have quite a big monitor...

Thanks for your response

that's where the problem starts especially if you're sitting close (due to the size of the pixel).

IMO, you are better off with he Dell 30" or a 40" 1080p Business/Public display