Laptops with display port out

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by johnieutah, Feb 26, 2013.

  1. johnieutah

    johnieutah
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    Looking for a new laptop for my photography work.

    I want to drive a high res 27" monitor which I believe can only be acheived with display port. However I only seem to be able to find Dells and Macs with this option. Others just have regular HDMI.

    Any further manufacturer suggestions?

    cheers. :smashin:
     
  2. trjp

    trjp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Displayports are really only found on business-aimed laptops - consumer devices get HDMI instead (cos consumers have TVs and not high-res monitors and projectors)...

    HDMI 1.4 increased bandwidth so that you can run higher-res but not at massive refresh rates (it will go to 4096x2160 but only at 24hz) - see here

    HDMI - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    Displayport 1.2 can do a bit better

    DisplayPort - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    So it really depends how high you want to go - if you really need Displayport, you'll need to shop for corporate laptops (so the Dell/HP/Lenovo Business stores) OR pickup a recond/refurb if the budget is tight (corporate laptops tend to the pricey end of the spectrum).

    p.s. remember that you'll need a LOT of graphics memory too - and oddly, that's something business laptops tend not to have - bit of a catch-22 then...
     
  3. johnieutah

    johnieutah
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    Thanks for that. From what I understand, only a handful of monitors accept 2560 x 1440 over HDMI... was after a Dell 2713 but that only goes up to HD over HDMI :-(
     
  4. brookheather

    brookheather
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,300
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +930
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2013
  5. johnieutah

    johnieutah
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    Looks like this is doing some sort of compression on the video signal, I wonder if this has significant hit on performance. My problem with all this is that HDMI 1.4 supports higher resolutions, but both the sending GPU and the receiving monitor need to support this. Which is not the case.

    Will stick to Dell as Mac is not an option.
     
  6. brookheather

    brookheather
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,300
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +930
    On a modern laptop with a Core i cpu you won't notice any performance hit.
     

Share This Page

Loading...