1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Laptop to TV?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Quinnsey, Apr 5, 2003.

  1. Quinnsey

    Quinnsey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought my IBM Thinkpad 600E in the hope that as well as having a laptop to myself, I could use it to replace my Playstation 2 as a DVD player. When I asked the salesman if it had a TV out he assured me that it did... I shouldn't have listened to him, what looked to me at first to be an s-video socket has turned out to be a mouse port :(
    Does any know if there is any other option available to me to be able to connect this laptop to my TV?
    Thanks :smashin:
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    If you are sure that it doesn't have a TV ou then i am pretty sure you can get USB box that will act as an output or(I assume it has a VGA out) a VGA to S-vid convereter. I know you can get them the otherway round!
    Hope this helps mate
    Lektropacks and keene are good place to look for this sort of stuff.
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  4. Quinnsey

    Quinnsey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the link dragon, but at that price I might as well just get a new DVD player :(. Are all TV-outs S-Video? There's an extremely small port on the side of this laptop that has a picture of what seems to be a a TV or Monitor. I've never seen a port like this before... it's about 4mm in diameter and has three small holes in it.
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Not all are s-vid some are composite DVI VGA etc Can i suggest you read the manual or look for a PDF version on the tosh site!
     
  6. Quinnsey

    Quinnsey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought the Laptop second hand (at a very good price), but it didn't come with a manual. I checked out the Thinkpad site, and in the reference and set up guides it stated that the port I was talking about above was indeed a video-out port. I guess the salesman wasn't lying after all :). Only thing is, it dosen't mention what kind of cable I would have to buy to connect it to my TV. I wonder if anyone can identify it from my description above?
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Take a photo or point us to a pic of it on the web
     
  8. Quinnsey

    Quinnsey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I've done some web searching and I found on ebay an ad for a 600e tv out cable, I guess that this kind of cable is just made by IBM, anyway they aren't expensive so I guess I'll start bidding to get one :)
    Sorry for wasting your time hornydragon, thanks for your help anyway
     
  9. bowlhead2000

    bowlhead2000
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The salesman wasn't lying, it DOES have a video out. But like you say what looks like it might be an Svideo, is actually just for a ps2 mouse or keyboard etc!

    The video out is a very small socket indeed, a circular one a few mm across. It's an entirely custom IBM thing. What you do is plug a little cable into it that fits the hole and on the other end has a proper plug that fits your TV. Now, I can't remember if it actually had 2 plugs, one composite one svideo, or if it was just a composite one. Think it was the latter, but can't remember if the socket did support S-vid - if you look in it, there's more than one pin. I think. ??

    I had one of these a couple of years ago from work, and I definitely used the aforementioned cable (which came with the laptop) to plug into the back of a TV when I was working overseas for a while. Later we upgraded to the IBM T22 or something, which I don't think had the socket. But the 600 definitely did. Hardly anyone in our office knew what the cable was for....

    Basically if you look around all the sockets on your laptop, there's infra red port , parallel printer port, serial, ps2, monitor, audio, a long one for a docking station, and one more you won't recognise. This is a similar size to a headphone socket, but it's not the right sort of hole.

    Unfortunately i don't know where to get replacement cables from and don't think i have mine anymore.

    Extract from sales manual on IBM website - it DOES say it supports TV out. You go into display properties in Windows to pick PAL/NTSC etc.

     
  10. Quinnsey

    Quinnsey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info BowlHead, just figured it out myself a few seconds before you posted :)
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    No worries mate glad to help. Trust IBM to have a custom socket and special cable!!!!!!!
     
  12. CounterWhine

    CounterWhine
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,480
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +155
    Sorry, I misread the title of the thread. I thought it was about lapdancing transvestites. I'm afraid I have nothing to contribute.

    D.
     
  13. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have compared DVD S-Video to my laptop S-Video. No contest- the DVD player is miles better- the laptop signal is very noisy.
     
  14. Quinnsey

    Quinnsey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    :rotfl:
     
  15. Quinnsey

    Quinnsey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't expect it to be much good, it's not as a replacement for a standalone DVD, just a substitute until I can afford a good one. And I bet it's a million times better than PS2 + composite cables :)
     
  16. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    why not an RGB cable for the PS2 or the S-vid cable >£10 here
     
  17. Quinnsey

    Quinnsey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to sell my PS2 because for the 2 years I've had it I've had 1 Game and 40 DVD's.
     
  18. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    oh ok then why not put it up for a trade with a nice MR DVD player and do a swop!
     

Share This Page

Loading...