laptop to PJ resolutions

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by GBDG1, Mar 25, 2006.

  1. GBDG1

    GBDG1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,260
    I bought an old Pj yesterday, native res of 800x600 and I tried plugging it into my laptop and despite everything it wouldn't work. My laptop is a running a widescreen display at a high resolution. I tried it on my girlfriends acer and it worked fine.

    Is my problem with incompatable resolutions? Will I have to really scale down my laptop to get it to work?
     
  2. paulmcp2403

    paulmcp2403
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +149
    set the resolution to 800x 600...:clap:
     
  3. GBDG1

    GBDG1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,260
    suppose I was asking for that, I would have said the same.

    I didn't explain that well, will I have to set the laptop, including the laptop screen to the horrible 800x600 everytime I want to use the Pj?
     
  4. laserdave

    laserdave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    collumpton
    Ratings:
    +12
    Depends on your laptop/chipset on the newer Ati systems (2005 onwards) you can set the monitor output to a different res from the laptop screen, If youve got a widescreen laptop it must be fairly recent and support multiple monitors
    Post the laptop make/model and I`ll try and cobble togther a walkthru...

    Dave
     
  5. paulmcp2403

    paulmcp2403
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +149
    I dont know - I ahve an nvidia card and it picks up two sources - you can set one to say 800 x 600 and one to 720 X 1200 etc....so probably (not definately) you will have to set it to 800 x600 - alternatively connect a dvd player - I did that with my old PJ :hiya:
     

Share This Page

Loading...