Laptop Sony VAIO as HCPC?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by DrPepper, Jun 24, 2002.

  1. DrPepper

    DrPepper
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3,348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Barking Essex
    Ratings:
    +267
    This question may have been asked before.
    Can I use laptop Sony VAIO as HCPC?
    It’s got ATI mobility Radeon(16 MB integrated DDR SDRAM 32bit.
     
  2. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The simple answer is yes you can.
    The real question is will it be any good?
    Can it playback DVD smoothly using a software decoder? If it can then there is no reason why you cant use the VGA output direct to a projector.
    Very few laptops have digital audio output, so you maybe without dolby digital.
    Also, can the graphics chip support the same resolution as your projector?
     
  3. MartinCo

    MartinCo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +1
    I dont see any reason why not.

    just thinking about doing the same thing myself with my laptop now I've got my CDRW/ DVD combo region free with the dvdidle/ region free software (was previously RPC2 locked).

    you can get a few laptops with optical out. most of the asus P4 ones have it... pc world/ advent ones of these are now going for about £900 upwards.

    just tried mine last night with WinDVD and got perfect DD & DTS from the SPDIF/ mini output. very impressive.

    the key thing is the gfx card... ATI should be good since they always have some hardware support for DVDs.

    guess you should be okay here with the sony/ ati.

    had a play with mine (same gfx card) and it appears to work with powerstrip etc for custom resolutions.

    I'm not sure if the resolution is 100% important as long as you can get approximately the correct settings.. for example mine has settings for 1024 x 600 and others ...approx 16:9 (give or take a pixel or two).
     
  4. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    MartinCo

    Maybe you can help me with my RPC2 locked DVD/CDR combo.

    I really need an idiots guide to flashing the drive. I think I understand the basics but get lost with creating a boot disk etc.

    It is not that difficult is it?

    Regards

    Nathan
     
  5. MartinCo

    MartinCo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +1
    you'd probably be better asking one of the others but first thing what drive have you got?

    if the firmware is there, then it should be pretty simple.

    usually a good selection of disks to try at bootdisk.com
     
  6. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    Toshiba DVD Rom SD-R2002 1029 according to Drive Region Info.

    Even got the hex file somewhere for it.

    Just having a look at bootdisk.com

    Nathan
     
  7. MartinCo

    MartinCo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +1
    which is listed on http://www.firmware.fr.st/ as having RPC1 hacked firmware.

    you should be fine.

    just download it and follow the instructions.

    the other site should have a basic dos bootdisk of the type you require somewhere.
     
  8. DrPepper

    DrPepper
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3,348
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Barking Essex
    Ratings:
    +267
    Thanks for your replys but the sound(DD/DTS) is going to a be
    a problem. The Sony model has not digital audio output.

    MartinCo what is SPDIF/ mini output? never heard of it.
     
  9. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    MartinCo,

    Thanks for the link, this is the one that I found months ago. It's just getting my head around this bootdisk thing for window ME that gets me................................

    Thanks for help so far.

    Rgds

    Nathan
     
  10. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    Drawn a blank now, had a sniff around bootdisk.com and downloaded what I thought was what I needed WINME file, only to find that when booting from A drive get an error message with something about bad interplator list file location blah blah, suggested C:COMMAND something.

    Have I got the wrong file or am I just a total computer mong!!!!!!

    Regards

    Nathan
     
  11. MartinCo

    MartinCo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +1
    shame.. I thought some of the Sonys had optical out. worth having a check on your model just in case.

    I meant mini toslink when I said spdif/ mini before...

    my laptop does have spdif/ optical out from what looks like a standard headphone socket... but is both analog for headphones and digital when you have software that can support it like WinDVD.

    got a nifty universal optical cable from Maplins for £15.. does both standard optical link and the smaller mini - both ends flip around to let you choose between both types... very smart and handy for connecting different digital things together..

    works perfectly with the laptop - enabled SPDIF (Sony/ Philips digital interface?) in WinDVD and voila!
    DD & DTS from all my DVDs... even shows the prescence of DTS-ES in Gladiator and Seven on my amp.

    nfordenfield - not sure what you have got from the site... but I use it all the time in my job for doing boot images for servers/PCs. there should be a canned image there for what you need. failing that ask one of the others.. no floppy on my home laptop so I cant really test it for ya.
     
  12. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    MartinCo

    How do you find out if the headphone can support digital?

    Would be a god send if my laptop did this as well.

    Rgds

    Nathan
     
  13. MartinCo

    MartinCo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +1
    sorry to disappoint you... I bought the laptop knowing it had digital out.
    thought a bit of future proofing would be a good idea.

    if its not in your spec... then you wont have it unfortunately.
     
  14. MartinCo

    MartinCo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +1
    Dr Pepper and nordenfield - all is not lost. looks like there are some PCMCIA cards with SPDIF out - I hadn't realised this.
    Most are for midi/ music use so could be expensive but still.. does give you the possibility of doing this. if you are looking to hook upto a projector via VGA, then a laptop makes a lot of sense to me.

    for example, have a look at:-
    http://www.digigram.com/products/
     
  15. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
  16. MartinCo

    MartinCo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +1
    really? cool.

    never heard of a USB to spdif cable before...
    as long as it works with windvd etc, then I cant see any problem.

    doh! just tried your link... which appears to be an external box of some sort anyway... expensive but should work.

    the creative labs external box should also work.


    if you can get them, a pcmcia card should be cheaper.
     
  17. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    It should do as the 5.1 comes bundled with win dvd.

    nathan
     
  18. MartinCo

    MartinCo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +1

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice