Dismiss Notice
We're migrating the forum software to the next major version and this will require the site to be down for the best part of Monday 16th.
More details here. Apologies for the inconvenience.

Laptop/PC with an HD Panel LCD

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by samhain, Oct 20, 2005.

Tags:
  1. samhain

    samhain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West Scotland
    Ratings:
    +135
    Hi

    If I was to get a HD panel, provided that there is VGA in can you simply connect a lap top, play a DVD and you get a HD siggnal, or do you have to manipulate the output from the laptop to get 720p?
     
  2. daxie

    daxie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    depends...

    to get 1:1 you'll need a laptop that can output 1360x768.
    Not all drivers allow this.
    If the driver doesn't allow it, you can always use powerstrip to obtain that resolution.
     
  3. Derek22

    Derek22
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    as above provided your card and drivers support the optimum resolution for the panel.

    Also when you think you have decided on te panel do a search on this forum and see what people have said about the panel in use with a pc. If you cant find anything then you can alsways ask.

    The reason for this is not all panels will handle the PC input at native resolution. I know sounds stupid. I can confirm the Samsung LE26R41BD supports the pc input at this, also from reading the sharps tend to be good at this as well.

    bear in mind your viewing distance for computers as on a 26 inch panel at a 3/4 meters thats a lot of little pixels.
     
  4. TV Headache

    TV Headache
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are there laptops available with HD DVD or BluRay readers already then? Or are we just talking about using the laptop's graphics card to upscale a 576 line SD DVD?
     
  5. Krudler

    Krudler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Daxie, could you please let me know more about this powerstrip?
     
  6. Derek22

    Derek22
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    there are some HD sources available from the like of micrsoft et all for playing through a computer. SD sources would simply get scaled.
     
  7. daxie

    daxie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it your plasma you're trying to connect?
     
  8. samhain

    samhain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West Scotland
    Ratings:
    +135
    No not plasma, will be getting an HD panel soon and wanted to know if I could get true HI def from a PC but I gather that all sources are upscaled which presumably is a poor relation to the real thing ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...