1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

laptop modem problem

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by gooner#14, Sep 23, 2005.

  1. gooner#14

    gooner#14
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    got a sony vaio and im trying to connect it to the internet via a dial up service thru ntl,
    ive got a "zonet zfm5600" 56 kps fax/modem pc card is this all i need to connect to the internet???
    because when i try to connect it says no connection to the internet can be found!!!!!!!!
    any help would be gr8 ta
     
  2. Puffer

    Puffer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Need more information on what you have tried to connect to the Internet

    such as have you set up the dial up connection for ntlworld .
     
  3. gooner#14

    gooner#14
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    ???? all ive done is connect a telefone line to the laptop and put in the ntl dial up disc installer but when it tries to go online it just says that its unable to connect to the internet"!!!!!!!
     
  4. Puffer

    Puffer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you right click the Internet explorer icon, click properties

    then click on connections,is ntlworld listed there .
     
  5. gooner#14

    gooner#14
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    nope!!
     
  6. gooner#14

    gooner#14
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    also when dialing up the card makes a whooshing noise instead of a tone ( like a speccy loading)
     
  7. Puffer

    Puffer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh thought you got it sorted gooner#14, the card probably making a whooshing

    noise because your setting for ntlworld isn't properly configured.

    If you want PM me and we will try an get it sorted for you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...