Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

laptop cannot drive projector on component connection

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by triden, Dec 18, 2004.

  1. triden

    triden
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    We recently just got a projector to make things easier for us. Anyhow, right now we are powering it with a laptop VGA out on laptop to VGA in on projector Everthing works well. The problem is when we try to run the projector on the component connections. It comes with a cable that hooks up to the monitor port on the laptop and then connects to the Component connection on the projector. For some reason, the projector doesnt detect any video signal and nothing displays. We need to get this connection working as we already have component cables run throughout the building. If we hook up a dvd player to the projector via component, everything wroks well...just not with the laptop. It's an EIKI EIK-25 DLP projector. Help with this would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    I am not quite a expert in component yet but,

    I don't think you can just go from VGA to component as the signal is still vga. It needs to be converted from VGA to component before it gets to the projector.

    The signal needs to be YPbPr component through a vga socket. The signal is probably Y/Cr/Cb. I think you will need a VGA to YPbPr component converter.

    I can't seem to find one. Perhaps someone else knows where to get them.
     
  3. triden

    triden
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The projector actually came with a cable that has VGA on one end and 3 component on the other end. This is what we are trying to use. You think they cable is at fault maybe?
     
  4. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    I know, but I don't think it will necessary work. If I am wrong then someone else can maybe help.

    Have a look at this ebay auction. It does vga to component but is not compatible with monitor ports.

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=32837&item=5737556865&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW


    I think you may need something like this.

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=298&item=3860961220&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW
     
  5. SeaneyC

    SeaneyC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,031
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +54
    THis cable is probably so you can use another component output device on your projector via the VGA port, not the other way round.
     
  6. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,038

    That makes sense. So you could put two DVD players with component output on the projector using the component input for one and the VGA input for the other.
     
  7. SeaneyC

    SeaneyC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,031
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +54
    Yes. It's quite a common feature on projectors that don't feature seperate Component inputs, although i've not seen it on a unit that ALREADY has component input.
     
  8. triden

    triden
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok guys I figured it out. Apparently what I need is an RGBHV cable. Common for tehse kind of setups im told. I ordered two of them from here:

    http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/hdtv-cables.html#hd15rgbhv
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice