Laptop as dvd recorder

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by jimmyboy, May 8, 2003.

1. jimmyboy

jimmyboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a sony viao laptop with TV out (no svhs), DVD RW and a DV input for camcoder input (I think a firewire- not sure). I also have a recent 36inch sony kv36fs76s (4 scarts + sep phono input V/Audio +sVHS).

Can I assume laptop output is composite (to play DVDs- inbuilt radion 7500 32mb graphics card)- it works on a 14 inch portable tv with phono input leads for video/audio input leads but not on 36inch scart/phono inputs?

Can I use laptop as a standalone dvd rec (I have a separate pc with dvd-RW but I wish to use the output from sat box or digital tuner scart to record the odd movie. There is no tv in lead- what software (if possible) and leads do I need- thanks.

2. dean randle

dean randle

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    I'm no expert at this, but I believe that you need a capture card to record onto the laptop, and laptops are not upgradeable. So I think you're stumped. Maybe someone else may have different advice though,
    Cheers,
    Dean.

3. harrisuk

harrisuk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +58
    You can get USB capture boxes. But the USB port does not have any where near enough throughput capability to produce good enough results I am afraid.

Its a non starter. If your laptop has a firwire port you can do it, but getting it to work right requires a load of HD space software and time setting it up and to use it. Then you have to spend the time archiving to DVD. No good in my opinion. It can be done but to give you my advice I have played with this and I dont think it is the route to go.