LaCie La Cinema Premier?

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by compact, Jan 18, 2008.

  1. compact

    compact
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +1
    What do you guys think of the Lacie LaCinema Premier?

    I'm thinking of getting it, though unsure if it actually plays divx or xvid

    "Easily turn your TV into an entertainment center for enjoying your movies, photos and music in comfort. Simply connect the LaCinema Premier to your PC or Mac via USB to transfer your digital media files; then plug it into your TV for instant playback. Designed with HDTV screens in mind, it can adapt video content up to a 1080i resolution. Enjoy surround sound thanks to its optical output capability. Fun and simple for anyone to use, it provides an easy-to navigate on-screen menu and convenient remote control. Even use it as an external hard drive for additional data storage. Our exclusive LaCie ‘1-Click’ Backup Software is included for quick, easy backups."
     
  2. rhubarbe

    rhubarbe
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +211
    It's based on one of the earlier generation chipsets that don't play any HD file types.

    It has no HDMI, only component video - do you have component video on your TV - and the only thing it has going for it is that it is cheap.
     
  3. compact

    compact
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's ok for me.

    I have a large CRT in the corner of my room.

    And most of my movies are downloaded, so would be lost on a high quality TV.


    So if it plays DIVX then game on...

    (although the Freecom 350 is also looking good)
     
  4. rhubarbe

    rhubarbe
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +211
    You have a component video input connection on your TV, do you?
     
  5. compact

    compact
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +1
    i have scart the 3 headphone size ones and the old school round tv aerial one
     
  6. rhubarbe

    rhubarbe
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +211
    This player doesn't have scart. It has S-Video (which you don't) and composite video (the three red, white and yellow ones. They really are about as bad as you can get - VHS territory.

    Still, yer pays yer money....
     
  7. compact

    compact
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +1
    Cheers for that.

    Is it possible to convert from S-Video to Scart, without loosing quality or would that be a waste of time and money?

    Just found out it plays the right formats.
    "yes it plays xvid, and divx up to 5.11"
     
  8. tony_yates

    tony_yates
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Jedburgh
    Ratings:
    +36
    Mmm, the OP might have s-video through the SCART connection, my CRT has RGB,s-video and composite all through the (2) SCARTs If it does then an s-video + audio to SCART cable would be required.
     
  9. compact

    compact
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah good point

    Just remembered I have one of those "s-video + audio to SCART cable" when I used to watch movies off my laptop..
     
  10. rhubarbe

    rhubarbe
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +211
    I'll bet you that it is in fact a composite to scart adapter. Composite in and composite out. I know, I bought one. Yuk.
     
  11. rhubarbe

    rhubarbe
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +211
  12. tony_yates

    tony_yates
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Jedburgh
    Ratings:
    +36
    This is the cable I meant; would this not work if the TV was able to receive s-video on the SCART connector?
     
  13. compact

    compact
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'll test the my TV, to see if I can watch my Laptop on my TV using the cable.

    I have though about using Streamers, but I want to free up my Laptop and have a device similar to a dvd player, but with a hard drive instead.

    And of course not too expensive.
     
  14. compact

    compact
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +1
  15. rhubarbe

    rhubarbe
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +211
    @Tony, that's a good one. That is s-Video.

    @compact - yep. that's the crap one I bought. If you look at the cables that go into the scart connector there is a red one, a white one and a yellow one. that is composite video and audio, no matter what they tell you to the contrary. That cable setup you (and I) paid $18.95 for is worth about 50p. Junk it and get the other one that Tony linked to.
     
  16. Petrushka

    Petrushka
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hoofddorp NL
    Ratings:
    +5
    The answer is "Yes". Provided your TV supports S-video through scart it will work. Been there - Done that.

    Scart is not a video standard. It is a connector type. Scart can support composite or S-video or RGB or even component.
     

Share This Page

Loading...