1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

kwik fit- rip off?

Discussion in 'Motoring' started by Miyazaki, Aug 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Miyazaki

Miyazaki

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +849
    I had my honda mot'd last friday at kwik fit, taking advantage of their £25 mot offer. The car failed on the service brakes. Was told it would cost £180 to fix. Problems included a "judder" on the brakes. They were about as unspecific as possible, and about as unfriendly as possible.

Got back home, had a look at the brake pads, and they were pretty much worn through. Went up to the local motor parts shop, purchased a pack of 4 brake pads for £25, took it back down for a free MOT retest and it sailed through.

All seems well until I considered that it took me approx. 1/2 hour to change the pads, without a haynes manual, and I am a complete amateur.

This is the kicker, why the hell would kwik fit charge £180 to swap some brake pads out that would have taken one of their mechanics a maximum of ten minutes to sort out?

Pure profiteering, thats what. :mad:

I am disgusted that they would skim so much off the top, for a relatively simple job. I guess that is how they can afford to offer an MOT for £25 eh. :eek:

I feel sorry for anyone else without the motivation or "skill" to be able to give their car a once over before taking it in for repairs. It can save you a fortune, and in my case, can save you from cowboys!

What does everyone else think about this? Should I write to Kwik Fit customer services?

2. Ed Selley

Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,222
    Sounds on form for Kwik Fit- I'd sooner have my car serviced by a kindergarten. Find a talented independent and stick with them :smashin:.

3. The Dude

The Dude

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,251