1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

KV-36FS76/36ZP38 geometry

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by SimonO, May 17, 2003.

1. SimonO

SimonO

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +64
    I've just replaced my Sony KV-36FS76 with a Toshiba 36ZP38... Whilst the picture seems to be generally better, geometry and convergence aren't perfect... Whilst my Sony had other 'problems', it's geometry and convergence were spot on... Should I expect ruler straight horizontal geometry and convergence into the corners on a Toshiba, or are they not as good as Sony in this respect..?

Horizontal bend into the corners was the only thing I couldn't adjust in the Sony service menu... Is this the same on this Toshiba..?

As I'm new to Toshiba I really just want to know what I should expect...

Cheers...

2. rct

rct

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    In my experience Toshiba CRTs are usually very poor in the area of geometry and convergence compared to other manufacturers. A Toshiba owner should be able to tell you what can be corrected, however when I had one I eventually sent it back because that was one of a number of uncorrectable issues :rolleyes:

I hope you get it sorted out ;)

3. SimonO

SimonO

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +64
    Thanks for the honest opinion..! Not what I wanted to hear though..!

Anyone out there got a 36" Toshiba with near perfect convergence/geometry..?

Should I persevere..?

4. Spunky

Spunky
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup, i'm lucky enough to have one with the geometry spot on straight from the warehouse.
    As long as there isn't a bow on the top of the screen you can fix it with the service menu, although its a little tricky.

Spunky

5. TVfreak

TVfreak

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0