• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

KRP-500a Calibration Help

Rotorsport

Standard Member
Hi,
I have just purchased an eye-one display LT and ran thru the greyscale calibration using HCFR only to find that the Blue is reading what I think is way too high.

The set is a Pioneer KRP-500a and is running in pure mode with all colours set at 0. This is my first attempt at doing this and I may be doing something wrong. I have read thru the greyscale for dummies guide and setup everything as per recommendation. The i1 is not new and I fear it may be way out of calibration.
Please see attachment and give me some feedback as to what the problem may be.

Many Thanks.

Attachments

• hcfr graph.jpg
    hcfr graph.jpg
    34.4 KB · Views: 194
Last edited:

Rotorsport

Standard Member
This was taken measuring 100% white running in pure mode which correct me if I'm wrong should be D65.

Last edited:

Rotorsport

Standard Member
Gordon,
Thanks for your input. I'm new to all of this and appreciate the help. What I'm trying to work out , is the i1 faulty. Below is an extract from Phil Hinton's review of the KRP-500 and based on this I was expecting the TV to be very close to D65 out of the box. I have tried two different sources and two test discs both of which gave similar results.
So just to recap I'm running the screen in pure mode with colour space 2 and gamma 2 and checking against the rec709 gamut. Am I still missing something here?