1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

kit for filming weddings

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by magiles, Oct 8, 2004.

1. magiles

magiles

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello there,

I am interested in setting up a video wedding company
    and would like to know what kit and camera I would need to
    start?

I have been playing around with a Samsung VPD87 for 2 years
    and have mastered the editing side.

just need to know what I would need for the next stage?

2. Quilgy

Quilgy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +12
    I did weddings for a while, mainly high level amateur stuff. If I was going to get serious I would go for a DV camera with 3CCD because the picture quality is a level above the 1CCDs. Look for something that is good in varying light conditions as you'll be in dark churches/reception centres and in bright sunshine all on the same day.

Add 16:9 aspect to this. I really don't think you can get away with giving people 4:3 ratio videos anymore given its a wedding video which will last for a long time, and widescreen TVs are getting much more commonplace.

A good tripod with fluid head will make a huge difference. There can be a lot of panning at weddings, and a cheap jittery tripod will wreck a long panning shot. If you can get one with optical image stablization, that will probably perform a little better than the electronic one when you are chasing after the bride and groom when they do something random you hadn't planned for!

Another handy item is a decent light for the accessory shoe. Some couples will not like use of this at the reception so again I stress get something with good low light performance. For those who don't mind it can make a big difference when doing vox pops and capturing footage at dusk or night.