1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Kinda Offtopic - Wireless Door Chime

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by zoolap, Oct 13, 2003.

  1. zoolap

    zoolap
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Kinda Offtopic though I guess this would be useful if you wanted to have a bell near the your cinema setup.

    We've been double glazed at home and have a new door. Since we don't wanna go through drilling holes in the door i'm looking at wireless Door Chimes.

    Our old bell is still on the spot above the door.

    Is it possible to get a two unit setup whereby there is a wireless switch unit that goes outside and a small unit that could stick inside near the door that will form a connection between the two contacts for the regular bell we have when the outer unit transmits a signal?

    We're considering an upstairs (above garage) extension and I'm thinking of having a projector setup there so it may well be that regular portable wireless chimes would allow for the unit to be placed in the room/near it so that we hear even if watching movies etc.

    Also most wireless efforts seem to have ugly external buttons - something brass/"brass effect" that could be stuck on would be good.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Dominic

    Dominic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2001
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    i have a micromark wireless chime, its as you say ugly on the outside. But it is OUTSIDE and sometimes function has to reign over form. Mine is a battery powered switch and the chimes simply plug into any std socket. As i got 2 with the kit for 25 quid, one goes by the front door for that logical sound and the other is in the dinning room by the back of the house / garden for when we are out side, but if i want it in the garage or kitchen it can go there too.

    If you were into eletronics i guess some sort of std switch could be wired up to the remote bell push.
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I would guess its a case of trwling DIY shops and catalogues till you find a nice one!
     
  4. RichardH

    RichardH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't think so - I have a similar requirement - We have a doorbell on the front of the house, and one on the side, but they ring in different places, so when one bell is pushed, I want both bells to ring. I started looking into building a relay to trip both circuits when one of the bells was pushed, but it all got terribly complicated.
     
  5. ff2001

    ff2001
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Leamington Spa
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    I bought one in B&Q a friend of my modified it to mains the bell is on the gate post some distance from the house inside a waterproof box from maplins, it has an aerial inside the receiver is upstairs on the landing again modified to the mains works very well its been up and running now for about a year only changed the battery once because I never sealed it properly cost about £20 to £30 I think . Jim
     
  7. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    I've got the MK/Freidland... Works very well and the buttons look good (choice of black or white)... I got mine from Homebase...

    I've got two buttons (front and back door) and each has a different chime... You can then add as many bells as you like, I've got a plug in mains powered and a portable battery powered (which is handy for the deck at the end of the garden)...
     

Share This Page

Loading...