1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

KeyDigital Component to RGB, voltage

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by magking, Jul 20, 2002.

  1. magking

    magking
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just got my KeyDigital component to RGB converter.
    The problem is it came with a multi output voltage converter and it does not say how many volt i shall have.
    Does anybody know?
    It goes from 3-12volt, so i could just try at 3 volt, but would like your opinion first.
     
  2. magking

    magking
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've just tried with 3, 4.5 and 6 volt, but i get no picture.
    I have connected a Toshiba DVD200 with component 480i and put the key digital to auto mode, 1 off, 2 on, 3 off, 6 on, 7 on.
    Then i tried all combonations of sync, 4 and 5 on/on, off/off, on/off and off/on.
    Why no picture?
    Help please.
     
  3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    I bought mine direct from USA. It deosn't usually come with a multi voltage adaptor. It is a single voltage item from KEY. Give me 30 minutes and I'll dig out the specs. It's in a box on a shelf and I've done my back in so can't get it down without help....ouch!

    Gordon
     
  4. magking

    magking
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks
    Sorry about your back.
    Good our hobby is home cinema then, can still enjoy a movie with a bad back.
    You wouldn't happen to know the setup for 480i to a Panasonic PT AE100 on the KD?
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    6volts DC with + on end pin. 2amps

    That's the spec for original spec power supply. I haven't tested mine yet. Waiting for JVC HiDef VCR at end of week for that game!

    Gordon
     
  6. magking

    magking
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank you.
    I got a picture now, but it is all wrong. To high, half looked, flikkering, etc.
    Beginning to think it will not accept 480i. Tried all synk options, but nether the Panasonic or my PC monitor could lock on the picture.
    Guess i'll have to buy a component cable also. I'm going to buy a p-scan dvdplayer, but decided to wait. Hopfully the Denon DVD3800 can be hacked to do PAL-P. Atleast Denon have fixed the chroma bug now.
     
  7. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
  8. magking

    magking
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +1
    I asked KeyDigital about 480i and 525i. They said that in auto mode this should work.
    BUT there is wery few(none?) monitors that will take 480i or 525i on their VGA input. So i guess thats the problem.
    I took my KD to my hifi dealer and hooked it up to a NEC plasma with a Denon DVD2800. We managed to get a picture there, but not perfect.
    So i guess i'll have to wait until i get my the Denon 3800, witch now is possible to region free an PAL-P with a chip.
    I ordered a Van Damme 10m Component just in case.
    Thanks for the help.
    PS: I had the + and - the wrong way at first.
     
  9. pja

    pja
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    480i needs a monitor that can handle 15Khz signal which very few of them do. The typical range for monitors is 30Khz - 120Khz+

    I know this because I have been looking into getting a KD-CTCA2 so I can use my US xbox and Gamecube on my monitor for progressive scan gaming and the main screen on the xbox does not display in 480p just 480i hence you need to set your xbox to progressive before you connect it to the monitor, otherwise you will not get any picture, as you have in your case.

    Have any of you tried it with a console by any chance and if so whats the picture quality like?
     
  10. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    I've just tried mine with HiDef DVHS tape...synced first time and looks pretty cool!!!

    Gordon
     

Share This Page

Loading...