Kef Kit 100 Help

reardoni

Established Member
Hi this may be in the wrong forum, so i apologise in advance.
The problem i am having is when trying to get the receiver / head unit to take a 5.1 signal via the optical in. I have tried from both the xbox 360 / PS3 and a new hd-ep30 and for each, the player can only identify either a downmixed PCM signal from both the ep30 and PS3 and only stereo sound from the 360. I have set the hd-dvd drive to output a bitstream. I have spoken with KEF who mentioned something to do with the Buffer on the Kit 100. As you can probably tell from the above, i am still learning and know very little about audio components and some help would be really appreciated. What i believe is happening that the sound is not being output fast enough or too fast for the kit 100 to process and hence some extra component (if it exists) needs to pre-process it before it gets to the kit 100. thanks to anyone in advance as any type of help or advice would be greatly appreciated (as kef didn't seem to know what to do).

sp_harris

Established Member
I wonder if your problem is that you are trying to send the wrong sound formats from the players - I guess this system only takes Dolby Digital over optical. I would try a single player such as PS3 select a DVD, then select a dolby digitial sound track, then report back what happens on your amp.

reardoni

Established Member