1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

KEF EGGS or Bookshelfs ?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by titanax, Jan 21, 2002.

1. titanax

titanax

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to your feedback, I am looking into the KEF EGGS, but can someone explain the difference between satellite speakers (the Eggs are satellite rite?) and, well non- sats !

Since space is a primary concern...and well a major constrain, the biggest I can go is bookshelf speakers.

Do bookshelfs sound better than satellites? Bass-wise? How about freqency? Or am I trying to compare an apple with a pear ?!

I am a newbie here...please advise. :confused:

2. common

common

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    Satellite speakers carry treble and mid range frequencies only so they come with a seperate subwoofer to do the bass. this means they are usually very small. Bookshelf speakers are small full range speakers that (as the name suggests) are well suited to being placed close to a wall. As you are posting on a home cinema forum I guess that it what you are looking to create - so AUDITION the kef eggs at a local dealer and ask for some advise about any other speakers they could recommend.

3. Jase

Jase

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +834
    Hi again!

How about considering 5 x Kef Q15´s all around (or 6 if you get an amp with a rear centre channel) and a Rel subwoofer.

The Q15´s are great and having them all round would give you a perfect tonal match and seemless sound panning from speaker to speaker.

They also do the business with music as well.

They are available quite cheaply now (150 quid a pair) and Rel subwoofers are available for about 500-600 quid (Rel q200).

Cheers

4. titanax

titanax

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi again!