1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

KEF Eggs + Denon 3802 - can I use banana plugs?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by phoTToniq, Oct 16, 2002.

1. phoTToniq

phoTToniq

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi - I am a total newbie and in my confusion I bought some equipment which seems to be a popular choice. I know this is the wrong way to go about things and I should have auditioned but I got impatient and ordered the stuff without thinking/trying it out first :blush: Ooops.

Now - what I have bought is a set of Kef Eggs and a Denon 3802 amp. Should I/can I use banana plugs when connecting the speaker cable? I am a complete audio newbie so if im asking a nonsensical question please tell me.

I know the eggs are less musical then other speakers but these will be used 80% of the time for home cinema. 10% of the time they will be used to play my mum's crappy recordings (mostly casettes - maybe the odd CD). 10% of the time they will be used for regular cd's - r&b and chart music.

Cheers,
    phoTToniq.

2. groundy

groundy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    You can use Banana Plugs - you will need to pop out the little plastic plugs that are fitted to the binding posts for protection first.

The benefits of using banana plugs is much less straightforward - the main one being for convenience. Do a search on this subject as there have been numerous threads discussing this issue.

3. Rigid

Rigid

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0