1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Keep losing DNS server

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Squiffy, Jul 10, 2004.

  1. Squiffy

    Squiffy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    9,632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +2,794
    I'm getting a very odd problem here.

    Whenever I've been on my PC a while, it 'forgets' how to get to the DNS server at my ISP. So IE / Mozilla keep telling me they cannot resolve URLs. Yet my connection is fine, and any sites I've been to keep on working. I've actually got the problem right now, but I can still use and Tracert to www.avforums.com. However, any other sites that I regularly use, but haven't been on yet tonight are inaccessible to me.

    Anyone got any ideas what might be causing this, and how I can stop it. I'm getting fed up with rebooting just to get to some of the sites I use! :suicide:
     
  2. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    I've been having this problem all day to day with my Nildram service. Their tech support people said there was nothing wrong at their end yet if I use Demon's DNS IP addresses (instread of dynamically allocated by Nildram) everything works just fine. Don't know if it is Nildram or if their may be a more global problem (their tech support did tell me that BT were having problems on their network sporadically affecting users today but don't know if that was bull or not) but would be interesting to know who you are using.
     
  3. Squiffy

    Squiffy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    9,632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +2,794
    I'm with Bulldog.

    I've noticed this problem over the last couple of weeks, but it's been particularly bad recently.
     
  4. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,839
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,177
    I get the same prob with my ISP sometimes, seems that some of their DNS servers are a bit flaky..

    Similar to mjn's workaround, I've noted down the address of the servers my connection picks up when it's working OK, and then entered these as static DNS server addresses in my router config..

    This seems to cure the problem of DNS dropping out after I've been surfing for a while..

    UK2's DNS servers seem to be very reliable as an alternative,

    212.4.208.100
    212.4.208.106

    you should be able to use them...
     
  5. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,546
    think you have me confused with Messiah.... :)
     
  6. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,839
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,177
    it wasn't me.. it was my fingers... :D
     
  7. Squiffy

    Squiffy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    9,632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +2,794
    Thanks Dude - I put that DNS server setting in my modem/router, and everything is working now! :thumbsup:
     
  8. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,096
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +711
    Glad you have a fix.
    BT's recent problems affecting ADSL users in the north of England and Wales were apparently caused by a radius server fault within their infrastructure.

    Has been ok since yesterday morning (Saturday 10th).

    Chris Muriel, Manchester.
     

Share This Page

Loading...