Keep existing sky tv but add freesat

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by DoogyDawg, Aug 27, 2018.

  1. DoogyDawg

    DoogyDawg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sorry if this is the wrong section.
    We have a Sky Tv package in the living room but would like to watch just BBC,HTV ch4 ch5 etc upstairs.(not our sky tv package)
    Is there a way to keep watching our sky package downstairs but add free sat up stairs using the Sky dish for both.
    many thanks.
     
  2. Bakey

    Bakey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +973
    Yes, we have Sky HD in the living room and two of the upstairs bedrooms have freesat boxes. We got a local engineer out and he installed 2 more cables from the dish into the bedrooms.
     
  3. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,208
    Your dish will likely have a 4 output lnb with two spare outlets. If the dish is accessible it's very easy to add two cables to the Freesat location. You just need to know how to fit a f connector.

    How to fit F Connectors to coaxial cable for Sky and Freesat

    If it's not too far easiest way is to use WF65 Shotgun (twin) cable.

    Best way is to run two WF100 cables.
     
  4. DoogyDawg

    DoogyDawg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks.
    I haven't had a look at the back of the LNB.
    I know how to make an F connector.
    Is there just a screw on connecter at the back of the LNB? and if it is how is it weather proof?
    I used to have a twin LNB dish way back in the 80's which could pick up Sky as well as the Hot Bird sats etc.
    That was a very long time ago though.
     
  5. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,208
    Should be simple then. The extra weight might mean the dish elevation needs a tiny tweak.

    After installing, get someone to watch the quality while you gently press the top and then the bottom of the dish (give the tuner time to respond). If the quality falls both ways the elevation is perfect.

    There is pull down weather screen, to add connections just push it up. I prefer waterproof boots and silicon grease others like self amalgamating tape - awkward to fit on a quad lnb.

    5 x Rubber Boots - Waterproof / Weatherproof F Plugs / Satellite LNB Coax Cable | eBay

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00W6Q3...8157-219b8a97db77&ie=UTF8&qid=1535382548&sr=1

    4 WAY SKY QUAD LNB LMB MK4 ADAPTOR SKY + PLUS FREESAT UNIVERSAL SATELLITE 3D HDM
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2018
  6. DoogyDawg

    DoogyDawg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +4
    Brilliant.Thanks very much all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...