1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

kazaa and people being sued!!

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by vik, Sep 12, 2003.

1. vik

vik

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    With the news of America having a spate of suing people...

I was wonderign what the score was in the UK - is it illegal to download music? i thought it was like copying off the radio - ok so long as u dont start selling that???

Also someone told me somat about dynamic IP broadband - which means that you computer cant actually be pinned down - is that true?

I am complete novice to this stuf so pls explain in baby language!!!!

2. Pulsar

Pulsar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +292
    Vik,

It is illegal to download music that you have not brought the rights for, you are making an illeagal copy, ie breaking copyright law. I have also heard of dynamic IP addresses, but couldn't tell you how it works, or if it works.

Rob

3. vik

vik

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    is it illegal to copy from the radio?

also i originally from west brom!

4. gab2001uk

gab2001uk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    Having Googled on this subject, it seems the current news mainly concerns US citizens, and the RIAA.
    My belief is the whole thing has been hyped up to use scare tactics that they hope will reduce the amount of filesharing.
    Reading between the lines it looks as if they are after large-scale uploaders, rather than the bedroom downloader.
    Advice given on most sites is not to allow a list of files in your shared folder to be visible to outsiders, to block known ISP's from a list available on the web. This way only packet sniffing can see what an individual is currently downloading.
    As one comment made:
    256 found, 35,000,000 to go...

5. vik

vik

Products Owned: