1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Kameleon battery life?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by chmaiden, Sep 5, 2004.

  1. chmaiden

    chmaiden
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    my Kameleo 6 in 1 appears to have a battery (duracells ) life of about a month...its not in loads of use as well...is this right?!
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    for a kameleon yeah thats about right, the is an option to turn off the motion activated backlight, have a search..
     
  3. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +55
    mines only used for bedroom system and is the same im afraid
     
  4. chmaiden

    chmaiden
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    if thats the usual, thats really disappointing....

    anyone know how to turn off the motion sensor then?
     
  5. sparkz

    sparkz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Check out this: Kameleon manual on page 3.

    My battery only seems to last around 2 weeks! The damn thing comes on with the slightest vibration.

    Going to ditch and go for a Pronto...

    Mark
     
  6. Stinja

    Stinja
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    11,576
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,336
    I tried this on the 6-in-1, but it didnt seem to work. The manual does say its for the 4-in-1, so anyone know if there's another code to disable the motion-sensor for the 6-in-1?
     
  7. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    Latest Kameleons ( URC 8201, 3, 4 , 6 ) have new technology so that the screen is only activated when it is touched meaning that battery consumption is reduced.
    New ' hard key ' functions and updated cases and fascias, plus a few other new features.

    Same prices as before. :cool:
     
  8. crackles

    crackles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do rechargable batteries work in these remotes? Some of the new NiMh AA cells pack 2000mAh
     
  9. father alice

    father alice
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have two sets of rechargable batteries for my Kameleon 6 - work fine, in fact they make it less motion sensitive, due to the lower power I guess, so it only comes on when you pick it up, which I think is better. I use one set of 300mAh and another with 600mAh - obviously the better one last longer - about a month, maybe two weeks with the crappy ones, but as it only takes 5 hrs to recharge, I never run out of batteries.

    Only prob is that it always dies at a crucial moment, and changing batteries takes a few mins, as you need a screwdriver.
     
  10. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    Batt life is nightmare, my wife had to take mine off me, when i was going to throw it up a wall as it "died" at just the wrong moment and i missed a recording.

    and dont talk to me about Pronto's - i broke mine - it still makes me want to cry :mad:

    gary
     
  11. pantages

    pantages
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +52
    The first series Kameleon 6 were notorious for short battery life. The later models, from series 3, fare better and are less sensitive. If you remove the batteries look at the model number underneath and if the last digit is a 1 then contact One For All and they should send a replacement remote as they did for me. If the digit is a 3 then you should not have a problem. Incidentally I stuck three small rubber pads underneath the remote and that helps with sensitivty and it now lights up less often. It also enables me to operate the remote without picking it up!
     
  12. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    14,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +4,195
    pantages

    That's interesting. Can I check that you are talking about versions within the First Generation Kameleons.

    The OneForAll site lists a Second Generation Kameleon that looks totally different but I'm not sure whether it is available in the UK - I can't find them anywhere.

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  13. pantages

    pantages
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +52
    The version (1 or 3) I am referring to is currently on sale in the UK. There does not seem to have been a version 2.
     
  14. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    They will definitely be available in UK, supposedly next month. :cool:
     
  15. [scm]

    [scm]
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I replied in another forum about this but in case you didn't see it, they are now available in the UK, well, to pre-order at least.

    I have ordered mine from http://www.dalepakdirect.com

    As for your concerns about battery life, the Second Generation Kameleon 4 and 6 are now rechargeable (the charger is extra, £29.99 i think). That's also available from Dalepak Direct here

    Sorry if im repeating in several different threads, but it seemed appropriate!!!

    Let me know how you get on!

    :clap:
     
  16. scpool

    scpool
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ;) I have now made my order for the new Kameleon! A friend
    of mine used Dalepak Direct once before, and said they were good. I've
    ordered the charger too - no more battery problems for me in future!
     
  17. matman

    matman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a first generation Kameleon 6 in 1.

    I found the motion sensor too sensitive, heavy on batteries, and I really didn't need it.

    I opened up the remote control and desoldered SW1 - job done !!!

    The motion sensor is no longer and I can activate the remote EL display by pressing any key of my choice.
     
  18. Ikki

    Ikki
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,173
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Location:
    Lancs
    Ratings:
    +97
    Kamelions are sheds. :D

    A good example of poor design and implementation of potientially useful technologies.
     
  19. movie_fan

    movie_fan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi,
    in the Kameleon 6 in 1 (2nd Generation) manual, is states that only alkaline batteries can be used, otherwise only the Kameleon charger with batteries should be used. Is that really so, or is it just marketing?
     
  20. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    its marketing dude, it will take an rechargable.

    Gary
     
  21. movie_fan

    movie_fan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Gotta learn not to trust the manual! :thumbsup:
     
  22. anuvid

    anuvid
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How have you found the 6 in 1 and charger ?
     
  23. movie_fan

    movie_fan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    400
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    No, I don't have the charger. I've had the remote for nearly one month now and it's still on the first battery set.
     
  24. GreenBars

    GreenBars
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    Personally, batteries in my second generation Kameleon 6 last for a month, however, I don't use any of the battery-saving measures, such as lowering the brightness of the display, using the light sensor or reducing the time the display will stay on after a key press, so I guess this must be worst case. One month might seem bad but when you can pick up a pack of 32 Philips alkaline AAs from Toys'R'Us for only £7, I don't really see the problem.

    Incidentally, the battery charger available at £30 really is a waste of money - 138 batteries worth. Even if a pair of AAs only lasts 1 month, you'd still need to use the charger for almost 6 years to get your money's worth and that doesn't take into account the electricity you need to supply the charger with.
     
  25. anuvid

    anuvid
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's true. I see what you're saying about the cost of the charger. Guess it makes it more sellable when sale time comes, and also I'd like to see how long a set of standard rechargeables lasts in the remote.
     
  26. neiljones

    neiljones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    northwest
    Ratings:
    +13
    Kamelon
    Who did you contact to get the replacement-tried the website but appear to be going round in circles-contact us relates to set up issues
    NJ
     
  27. pantages

    pantages
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +52
    There is an email address on page 16 of the manual.
     
  28. Paul Shirley

    Paul Shirley
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +174
    £30 for a dedicated cradle charger is a waste of money unless you really insist on zero downtime.

    £10 for a cheap NiMH charger+4 batteries is a different proposition, especially since high capacity NiMH cells last longer in everything I use than alkalines. Who buys a charger for just one device anyway?
     
  29. neiljones

    neiljones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    northwest
    Ratings:
    +13
    I rang ther number on page 16 of the manual.
    If my remote had been within the guarantee period they would have upgraded it.

    They did say to send the remote back to them, and they would "DEACTIVATE" the lighing mechanism, which would then only work when a button was pressed. The address was in Northampton.
    NJ :nono:
     
  30. Supersonic72

    Supersonic72
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm sure ive read on another remotes site that the movement tilt mechanism was in fact a simple ball-bearing based sensor, so once
    the balls were removed - so to speak - the sensor didnt activate.

    It did require a screwdriver, but read like it was relatively easy....
     

Share This Page

Loading...