1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

JVC tellies: AV28X4 vs AV28X47 vs AV28X4SKA

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by smogo, Jan 18, 2005.

1. smogo

smogo
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm about to buy a new telly and I think I'm going to plump for the JVC AV28X4, which is £529.00 from John Lewis but hopefully I can get them to pricematch down to Comet's £399.99. (Online retailers sell it for as little as £353 delivered.)

But...

The model that Comet is selling is the AV28X47, and the only review I've seen is actually of the AV28X4SKA (which Kelkoo doesn't seem to have heard of).

Does anyone here know the differences (if any) between these three models?

Any other advice relating to this set?

Oh, and also a complete newbie question: do you need special RGB scart cables to take full advantage of the RGB sockets?

2. Chris Hedlund

Chris Hedlund

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I spoke to JVC about this when I was looking at these models. They are all the same TV. There may be very suble differences in colour of the cabinets. I believe it is a ploy used by retailers to stop the practice of price matching.
    Cheers Chris

3. joe public

joe public

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Smogo, I too took a trip to Comet to buy the AV-32X47 (£599) as I presumed it was the same as the well reviewed AV-32X4.

After speaking the manager (who actually seemed very knowledgeable for a change - for those of you waiting for a Toshiba 32ZP46, he said they had sold over 2000 which were all on back order), he disagreed with what Chris was told by JVC.