1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

JVC LT32DS6 - New dvd player required?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Chorlton, Aug 23, 2005.

  1. Chorlton

    Chorlton
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Finally plucked up the courage to sell a lung and buy a hi-def lcd.

    Settled on the JVC as to me it just had the edge on pq against the others in the same price bracket.

    Just trying to work out the best connections to use for all my other toys.

    Ive got NTL so I assume the best picture will be via scart.

    My dvd player is quite an old one Sony 535, which is good because its a multi region one, but it can only connect via scart.

    Would I be better off getting a dvd player with component output to get better quality? If so can you suggest one on a relatively small budget as I guess I'll be replacing again next year when hi-def dvd comes out.

    I also have a gamecube. Currently this is using the composite cable it came with. I guess I need to get a scart cable for this too?


    Any suggestions?
     
  2. knowley

    knowley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am going through a similar thing at the moment (also have the JVC LT32DS6). As it happens I am selling my old TV, Video and DVD player tonight, and getting a JVC DR-MH20 DVD/HD recorder with the money.

    From what I read component connections will give a better picture, how noticeable it will be I don't know but I might know by the weekend.

    ??? And also from what I read there isn't really a need for HD DVD players... ???
     
  3. pjskel

    pjskel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +124
    You might want to investigate the Samsung HD850/950 as they upscale DVD to 720p over the HDMI (and Component?) output.
    Not sure if the JVC players do likewise. I know their DVD recorders don't, unfortunately.
    Also Denon and Marantz have upscaling players as well, but priced higher up due to being a bit more than a bog ordinary player.
     
  4. knowley

    knowley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    grrrr, I was about to order the JVC recorder ... should I really start investigating something else? :suicide:

    I am beginning to think a Freeview PVR (HD recorder with built in dual freeview tuners) plus a JVC DVD player might be a good option... but then will have 2 boxes again, 3 remotes and complete :confused:
     
  5. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +527
    So how is everyone getting on with their JVC's??
     
  6. knowley

    knowley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine is fantastic :)

    BUT, I am a bit lost with these damn cables...

    I will be ordering the JVC dvd recorder from http://www.digitaldirectuk.com/ and I will need some cables for the component stuff, already have a SCART to use an presume its ok?

    Are SCART leads different for RGB?

    .... I guess I need a video component cable (3 sockets) and an audio cable (2 sockets), but which ones - If someone could link to the two cheapest on Digital Direct (I was looking at QED cables) I'd greatly appreciate it!

    Ta

    EDIT: Will these two be a reasonable choice?
    QUNEX-P-CV1-1.0M £42
    QUNEX 1-1M £16.99
    Plus the SCART that should come with the DVD recorder.
     
  7. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    If you have a fully wired Scart cable then it will handle RGB but you can also buy RGB Only Scarts which are video only and like component would require separate audio cables. The QED cables you've mentioned are pretty good cables and come recommended. Check out the Cables forum for more info.
     
  8. knowley

    knowley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been reading the cables forum all evening, its hard work in there... should I spend £60 on these things, or can I find some thing as good enough for less?
    Thanks Neil :)
     
  9. pjskel

    pjskel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +124
    You could opt for the Thor brand from Maplin Electronics (and elsewhere?) or Belkin, if you can find them.
    Ixos are a good brand also, but cheaper online in price only - watch hidden costs like delivery which may make them no cheaper than haggling for in Dixons/Currys/Comet.
     
  10. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    What type of cables are you after then? Scart or Component.
     
  11. Scott_Mac

    Scott_Mac
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,863
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bromsgrove
    Ratings:
    +568
    You won't go wrong with QED, end of story.

    Best connection methods (as a rule of thumb anyway, some folk prefer S-Video over SCART for certain applications) are:

    HDMI
    DVI
    Component
    RGB SCART
    SCART
    S-Video
    Composite

    So basically, wire up whatever you want to have the best PQ using the best available from above... most folk tend to do Component or better for DVD and RGB SCART for Sky/Freeview then normal Scart/S-Video for whatever is left.. and if you run out, composite :)

    If you use RGB SCART or better from my list you will need a separate audio feed to your audio source... if that is the TV then a set of 2 Phono to 2 Phono is the way, if it's to an AV amplifier, then Co-Axial Digital lead or Optical are best to get less signal loss and also enable Dolby Digital/DTS etc if available...
     
  12. knowley

    knowley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats great :smashin:

    For me, there is no HD on the DVD recorder.
    No DVI on anything.
    Component for watching DVDs from the recorder.
    SCART for recording Digital TV from the TVs built in Tuner (DVD recorder lacks RGB SCART input I think).
    VGA for my laptop.
    S-video/Composite I don't need.
     
  13. Lechuck

    Lechuck
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    @knowley:

    There is (will be) a new JVC DVD recorder (300) soon. It'll have RGB input
    as well as upscale to 720p over the HDMI. It looks it's just what you need.
     
  14. knowley

    knowley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like it will cost more than £300 though?
     
  15. nogimmix

    nogimmix
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,096
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Kent & Canary Wharf
    Ratings:
    +83
    Yep, but you can sell the other lung to pay for it!! ;)
     
  16. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,264
    It'll take your breath away!
     
  17. pjskel

    pjskel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +124
    Too late, he'll be breathless long before it even arrives. :laugh:
    Better if he sold a kidney - then he could pee himself with laughter at how silly he's been in selling off body parts to fund a better TV picture.
     
  18. knowley

    knowley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    You lot are mean :rotfl:
     
  19. pjskel

    pjskel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +124
    Yes we are, aren't we?! ;)
     
  20. knowley

    knowley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not as mean as this dvd/hd recorder thing... good god its complicated, hopefully I'll figure out the damn thing soon.

    Thanks for everyones assistance over the past few days etc :smashin:
     
  21. pjskel

    pjskel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +124
    What problem are you having with it? What's complicated?
     
  22. knowley

    knowley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, where do I start....

    Trying to fit a thick SCART, composite cable, audio out & in cables plus the tv ariels and power cables into the JVC cable tidied on the back of the tv was errr interesting.

    Picture was a fuzzy b+w at the start - change setting on the recorder to component, so got colour but not as a good picture as SCART. Found the progressive scan option on the control so picture sorted.

    TV link said it was suspended, so plugged the SCART (Digi TV -> DVDR) into the other SCART socket on the DVDR, then that worked.

    Last night I successfully:
    - Tuned in the analogue channels & got the unit recieving D-TV though SCART.
    - Recorded Lost of D-TV onto the HD, and edited out the adverts at the start.
    - Dubbed a futurerama episode off a DVD onto the HD.

    Only problem is setting the timer record on the TV doesn't populate the DVR with a time to start/stop, looks like I have to set it twice; once on the TV and once on the recorder? I was hoping that the TV being JVC as well would send the request to the DVR?

    There are soooo many menus, but then I suppose it does a lot... :) Its just a steep learning curve, and I think (by 1am) I'd figured most of it out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...