1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

JVC HV 32D25: Progscan & HD & Pixel+

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by regis, Nov 25, 2002.

  1. regis

    regis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys,

    I already saw a post on that subject some days ago but it seems you didn't react.
    I just visited the JVC website and I saw an ad for their brand new model: HV 32D25 using "D.I.S.T." technology. This telly seems to offer best of all worlds, I mean progressive scan and something like Pixel Plus. Exciting no???

    Does anyone has more information on that telly? Is it able to do PAL progressive scan (I own only Z2 coz' I'm not a native English speaker). What about pricing and quality?

    Régis from Belgium.
     
  2. regis

    regis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. jtorry

    jtorry
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    it doesn't mention support for progressive scan anywhere.
     
  4. regis

    regis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you click on the EISA icon, you'll see the following:

    European Video Innovation of the Year 2002-2003
    D.I.S.T.

    ' TV picture quality continues to improve, but PAL video signals remain fixed in resolution and often suffer flicker.
    Progressive scan and 100Hz technology but solve one of these problems, but the new Digital Image Scaling Technology (D.I.S.T.) from JVC fixes both. With 1250 scanning lines and 75Hz vertical scan frequency, its pictures are both flicker-free and highly detailed. D.I.S.T. is a really major step forward in displayed video quality.'

    HV-32D25

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    JVC's original D.I.S.T. (Digital Image Scaling Technology) found on the HV-32D25 makes use of an interpolation method that doubles the scanning lines (1250i), making it suitable for reproducing high-resolution pictures on large-screen displays. D.I.S.T. incorporates five components that work together to eliminate diagonal jaggies and produce flicker-free picture: Interlace-Progressive (I-P) Converter, Formatter, Super DigiPure enhancer LSI, Wide-Range CRT Driver, and Fine Pitch CRT.

    Structure of D.I.S.T.

    Before: 625i After: 1250i
    Scanning lines are doubled (1250i) compared to a conventional PAL signal (625i) to offer a more natural-looking picture without diagonal jaggies.
     
  5. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +834
  6. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +834
  7. Papa Smurf

    Papa Smurf
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just spotted this tv here at a pretty good price.

    Might have to rethink on that Panny PH40.
     
  8. jtorry

    jtorry
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    still it is not clear whether or not is has progressive scan.
     
  9. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +834
    Got a JVC catalogue yesterday and this TV will accept an NTSC Progressive Scan signal via its Component Video Inputs, it then applies the digital scaling etc

    All other input signals (Pal 625i and NTSC 525i) are converted from interlaced to progressive before going through the digital scaling.

    Seems pretty impressive.
     
  10. jtorry

    jtorry
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    so no pal progressive?
     
  11. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +834
    Not mentioned in the brochure but I´ve emailed JVC to see what they say. Should get an answer in the next couple of days.

    At least its a decent price in the UK, over here its 1800 quid.:(
     
  12. regis

    regis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, what about quality of JVC products? Can someone help? I really have no experience with that brand.
     
  13. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +834
    I´ve had JVC tv´s for the last few years and never had any problems at all.
     
  14. Luc

    Luc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    I sent JVC a mail as well to see if it supported PAL progressive, and i got this reply.


    I think he might have got muddle up, because i was asking about PAL progressive, but the brochure says it DOES do NTSC progressive. Looks like it converts any p signal fed to it into an i picture. At 1250, are we going to notice that it's not a progressive image?
     
  15. mafioso

    mafioso
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does any high street store have this tv on display to demo?
    Is there going to be a 36" model?
     
  16. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +834
    [Luc]

    I never got a reply from JVC but the brochure definitely shows it can accept an NTSC progressive signal. The external NTSC Progressive signal then bypasses the I-P converter and goes straight to the Formatter. Interlaced Pal & NTSC signals go through the I-P conversion then to the Formatter.

    What they seem to have got themselves mixed up about at JVC is that some TV models (certainly over here in Spain) have NTSC progressive already. These TV´s have their own de-interlacers for when they are fed an NTSC signal. They don´t have component inputs and can´t accept a progressive scan signal either via NTSC or PAL. This chap must be talking about this feature.
     
  17. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +834
    Still waiting for them to appear on the High Street over here in Spain.

    It´s unlikely there will be a 36" model as JVC don´t do them. 32" is the largest TV they make (apart from Plasmas).
     
  18. regis

    regis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I'll send a mail to their customer service in Belgium. We'll see if the answer if more clear (I have serious doubts anyway :clown: )

    Régis.
     
  19. AVWotcha

    AVWotcha
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    54
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is this any better than the Philips Cybertube ? Isn't that supposed to have a higher resolution ?

    20% increase in pixels doesn't seem much to me.
     
  20. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +834
    PixelPlus increases the amount of lines (PAL is 625 lines) to 833 and doubles the pixels per line from 1024 to 2048.

    The JVC D.I.S.T increases the amount of lines to 1250 but I´m not sure of the pixel content, I assume it doubles it as well.:confused: So it should give a much more detailed picture than the Philips.
     
  21. AVWotcha

    AVWotcha
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    54
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah no, I'm not talking about the line doubling technology. I mean the physical number of dots on the TV screen.

    It's pointless doubling the number of lines in your picture, if you don't also increase the physical resolution of the screen !!! 20% doesn't sound like much of an increase to me.
     
  22. Tetsuo

    Tetsuo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree with AVWotcha on this. Anyone here know?

    I'd really like an answer to this since I'm considering buying one very soon. My top two candidates at the moment are the JVC hv-32d25 and the the Loewe Aconda.
     
  23. Tetsuo

    Tetsuo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't mean to be bothersome here. But I have to decide which TV to buy within monday. So I'm very eager to get an answer to this question.

    So if anyone knows, please answer :)
     
  24. regis

    regis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahah ... I found a dutch manual on the JVC belgian website. I can read:

    Component video input (Pr, PB, Y)
    Support of progressive signals (625p or 525p).

    Good news no?
    Does anyone saw that set operating? What is the result?

    Régis.
     
  25. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,264
    The set is not on sale yet in the UK. It is due in a few weeks.
     
  26. Tetsuo

    Tetsuo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, since I wrote the last coments I have bought the set.

    I am very happy with it apart from some minor flaws. But then again, doesn't just about everything have minor flaws...

    The manual is not very good. There came three books with the TV. But they are all the same, just in different languages. The english part is 58 pages, and just goes on and on about the obvious bits. It never states the things that I want to know.

    Under specifications though, it says the followin:

    EXT-4 Terminal:
    RCA connectors x 5
    -Component video (Pr, PB, Y) inputs and audio L/R inputs are available

    -progressive-scanning signals (625p or 525p) are available.

    As I only have a Pioneer dv-350s I don't have any way of testing this.

    So far I have gotten a better picture using S-Video cable. Rather than using Scaart with or without RGB.

    I do however have a couple of questions that one of you might be able to answer.

    1. When using scart cable from the DVD player to the TV. The TV pushes the picture 1 inch to much to the left. What I mean is, when using the THX optimizer program on monsters inc. I can not see the whole square, as part of it is outside the picture on the left hand side. This does not happen on the S-Video. Any way to fix this? If you don't know this Telly, please answer on a general basis, so I might figure something out.

    2. Sometimes when the camera panns, either to the left or right. It almost looks like there is a wide lens on the TV. (It kind of feels like what the Alien sees in Abyss). It is not a big problem, but I was wondering if this is something that is common on many wde screen TVs.

    If anyone have any questions about this set, I'll be glad to help. Just remeber im not a techie. And I don't have anything that can put out a progressive signal.
     
  27. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +834
    Tetsuo

    Feeding the TV with an RGB signal will shift the picture to the left, it does it on my current JVC TV as well. S-Video has no picture shift.

    The effect you see when the camera pans could be down to the digital processing. Have you tried adjusting the various Digipure/VNR settings?? I use the MIN setting for both on mine.

    What do you think of the picture quality of your set, does the D.I.S.T do a good job of increasing the resolution??
     
  28. Luc

    Luc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    The left shift can probably be altered in the service menu, but i've no idea how to get into it on that model. Where did you get it from and how much did it cost you in the end?
     
  29. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +834
    JVC Service Menus are usually accessed by pressing both the MUTE and INFO buttons on the remote at the same time.

    Write down all the settings before you start messing around as there is no way to set the TV back to its default settings!!
     
  30. Totalnoobee

    Totalnoobee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jase:

    Where have you seen this TV in Spain?
    Do you think they'll have it in Mediamarkt?

    Gracias.

    Javier
     

Share This Page

Loading...