JVC DR-MH20 'Loading' fault...

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by XIII, Dec 27, 2006.

  1. XIII

    XIII
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi,

    Just wondering what peoples experiences of getting this type of kit fixed?

    Worked fine since purchase... minor quibble that it doesn't record in RGB - I should have read up more :¬)

    Anyway... Whe I powered up today, it started showing as 'Loading'... permanantly. The unit itself was bought from Comet online in March '05 so is clearly out of warranty, however it appears to be a known and common fault. I've emailed JVC but haven't heard anything back from them as yet...

    Anyone had any joy with this type of thing?

    Cheers,

    XIII
     
  2. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +296
  3. XIII

    XIII
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +9
    Oops...

    I did glance over that, but saw some of the dates were a long time ago and didn't know if it would still be relevant...

    I'll wait a bit longer for JVC to get back to me and take it from there..

    Yours got fixed ok... do you still have it, have there been any problems since getting it fixed?

    Cheers
     
  4. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +296
    No problems since it was returned to me by the retailer after being sent to JVC for repairs.

    GaryB still comes on these forums from time to time. He was working for JVC testing their new equipment. Don't know if he is still engaged in this work.
     
  5. Brittleware

    Brittleware
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    :( Well, mine lasted a year longer - my third one crashed yesterday after nearly three years, now flashes "loading" constantly...... Does anyone know if JVC are still accepting that these machines are inherently faulty? Or is it a) an expensive door stop or b) repairable at my expense?

    I'd like to be reminded of the capacitor/resistor fix in case I end up having to DIY it!

    Thanks
     
  6. Brittleware

    Brittleware
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    :) Replaced all the electrolytic capacitors on the power supply board, and the machine now works perfectly! (Touches wood here)
     
  7. Skinnera

    Skinnera
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Annoyingly I've only just found this thread after googling the JVC DR-MH20 model name to get a full description so I can flog mine on eBay!!

    At the end of last year it did the 'permanent loading' thing and JVC were only able to offer me the names of local repair agents, one of whom fixed it but charged me for the pleasure.

    He even said it was related to the power supply so I am sure this mod was what he did. :mad:

    Anyway, since then I have upgraded to a V+ box, so no longer have need of the JVC (albeit I do miss the nice little interface, being able to trim recordings, and rename them), but feel stung out of the cost of repair (about £50 if I recall).
    Do I have any recourse here...? :(
     
  8. Neil DW

    Neil DW
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I purchased one of these units in september 2005, the unit developed the 'Loading' fault with in 6 months.
    After contactingthe On-Line retailer I was put in contact with JVC, a new unti was supplied by courier & the old unit picked up.
    The second machine has now developed the same 'Loading' fault.
    Even though its now been 2 years since the original machine was replaced, should I stilll get free support with this problem as it is a known fault?
    There do not appear to be any contact numbers or email addresses on the JVC website.
    Is there any way to accesss information on the hard disk using a PC?
     
  9. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,303
    These units will give a "Loading" message for any fault detected, so the fact that you're getting that message doesn't mean that the cause is the same. The cause is very unlikely to be the known fault. That will usually occur within about 6 months use (as your original unit did).

    It's not possible to read the HDD with a PC.
     
  10. Neil DW

    Neil DW
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The fault actually started after about 12 months of receiving the second machine.
    We tend to record quite a lot of every day programs which we dont need to transfer to disk. we either work away or shifts)
    THe HDD can get quite full sometimes.
    If we watch a recorded programs from HDD & then delete quite a few all at once, the machine oould appear to take a long time deleting and would then usually turn itself off.
    When turning machine on again, it would flash loading for a while & then turn itself off agin. Turning it on again it would flash loading again for about 5 minutes then switch itself off again, turning it on again, it would come back on as normal.
    On this last occcasion, after deleting a lot of recorded material, again the last deletion appeared to go slow & then the machine went off, this time on switching on, the loading screen did not go away.
    Is this a expensive repair, is it worthwhile?

    Trying to reboot the machine pressing standby 7 stip does cause the machine to try to do something.

    THanks
     
  11. padrah

    padrah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a DR-MH20S which displayed the same 'Loading' fault. I gave it to a local repair specialist and it is now completely dead! I don't expect to be able to repair it and it seems I will not be able to read the hard drive with my PC but will I be able to access the recordings on the hard drive by putting it into another JVC recorder? I assume it will work in another DR-MH20 machine. What about other models? There have been a few DR-MH30 recorders on ebay.

    I would be grateful for any advice with this.
     

Share This Page

Loading...