JVC ccd lens cap error, Claim deadline extended .

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by alanwjones, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. alanwjones

    alanwjones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Caernarfon, Cymru.
    Ratings:
    +10
    CCD Failure/Lens Cap Warning Error
    JVC has received reports that in certain circumstances, the following models may, while in the camera mode, show no picture, a distorted picture and/or display “LENS CAP” even though the lens cap is removed. We have identified the probable cause as a failure of the CCD image sensor. Repairs of units exhibiting these problems as a result of a defect in the CCD image sensor will be made free of charge at a JVC Authorised Service Centre even if the unit is outside warranty.

    Please call our Consumer Support Department on 0870-330-5000 to obtain your free repair. We apologise for any inconvenience and we appreciate your understanding and support.

    Please note that this offer expires on 30th June 2008 and is applicable only to failure of the CCD image sensor.

    This information applies to the following models:

    GR-D18, GR-D20, GR-D21, GR-D22, GR-D225, GR-D23, GR-D24, GR-D30, GR-D31, GR-D32, GR-D33, GR-D34, GR-D40, GR-D43, GR-D50, GR-D53, GR-D54, GR-D60, GR-D63, GR-D70, GR-D73, GR-DX25, GR-DX27, GR-DX28, GR-DX35, GR-DX36, GR-DX37, GR-DX45, GR-DX47, GR-DX48, GR-DX55, GR-DX57, GR-DX67, GR-DX75, GR-DX77, GR-DX78, GR-DX95, GR-DX97, GR-FX15, GR-FX16, GR-FXM39, GR-FXM393, GR-FXM40, GR-FXM404, GR-PD1, GR-SX19, GR-SX25, GR-SX26, GR-SXM29, GR-SXM30, GR-SXM49, GR-SXM50, JY-HD10.
     
  2. stewartbu

    stewartbu
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks contacted JVC who are repairing for free, even though I've had the camcorder for several years!
     
  3. red angler

    red angler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Mines away at the repair center now,just waiting for it to come back.Mine was nearly 4 years old but had very litttle use.Well done JVC
     
  4. smbruce

    smbruce
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just wanted to add my thanks too.

    Found this today and will be ringing JVC tomorrow.
     
  5. red angler

    red angler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    got my camera back,all working,took just over 3 weeks,thanks JVC
     
  6. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,303
  7. NCS

    NCS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    South England
    Ratings:
    +1
    GZ-MC500
    My MC500 which is this one has done exactly the same.
    Lens Cap Error. No picture either in movie mode or Still picture mode. Rest of the mechanics appear OK. When Rec button is pressed it starts recording (the sounds) without any picture.

    Looked up JVC support and there it was, but the this model not included in the list. I'll be calling them today anyway.

    Anybody with similar problem?
     
  8. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,303
    The MC500 is a 3 CCD camera and didn't use the same CCD as the models listed on the JVC website. If it's failed, it will be for a reason unrelated to the CCD problem.
     
  9. NCS

    NCS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    South England
    Ratings:
    +1
    Gary,
    I didn't think of that. There has been no accidents to cause any mechanical error. It boots up fine and HD seem to spin (I can hear it).
    • Zoom function OK (can see lens move in and out)
    • Movie record button works (no video only sound)
    • Image picture takes 'BSOD' pictures.
    • Audio record functions OK.
    • All the menu function and setup works OK

    Much appreciate for any suggestions. :lease:
     
  10. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,303
    It's probably something at the front end of the camera but it's impossible to be any more precise than that. The Lens Cap message is displayed simply because the screen is blank - it looks at the video level and, if there is nothing there, it assumes the lens cap is on.

    If you want to get it looked at, let me know a more precise location (by PM if you prefer) and I'll let you know if there is a local JVC Digital ASC near you.
     
  11. NCS

    NCS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    South England
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Gary
    I have called JVC and the lady asked me to write to their Consumer support. Strange they don't have telephone support (or online). I am not sure how long it will take for them to respond.

    I will update once I receive any suggestion from JVC.

    Thanks.
     
  12. NCS

    NCS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    South England
    Ratings:
    +1
    JVC replied saying though it sounds like CCD problem they advise me to have it checked at JVC approved service centre.

    I guess I am stuffed.:rolleyes:
     
  13. TuBorg

    TuBorg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem with my GZ-MC500E as NCS.
    I just sent a message to the Swedish support and will post their suggestions as soon as they reply.
     
  14. NCS

    NCS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    South England
    Ratings:
    +1
    I guess we are not alone. Here is the thread I started with this problem for JVC.

    Let's try find out how many more are affected and we will nag JVC :thumbsdow:devil: to have it fixed FOC just like the whole range of their other camcorders.
     
  15. Chibimarco

    Chibimarco
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im a MC 500 owner as well.
    Today the screen turned black,and give me a Lens cap message for a few seconds. (google search brought me here)
    I could get the screen back, by holding the camera upside-down, and knock with my knuckles, at the front of the camera, near lens.. This helped, until I turn off the camera.. same problem appears.
    If you really need that 1 moment video.. try the knuckle-thing I just told.
    Dont know if it is CCD related... but weird that I get the screen back with this knocking.
    Dont know if it is any help.. I hope it is for at least 1 of you.
    Dont hit it too hard, you might hurt your knuckles and break your camera even more
     
  16. Threemonkeys

    Threemonkeys
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bacup
    Ratings:
    +9
    I have a JVC GR-DX97 that developed the lens cap failure problem, 3 years old telephoned JVC everthing great, comes under the free repair, but as i live in Spain had to return it to England and get my daughter to deal with it, well its been a 6 week turn around, and guess what, its useless, it records but the playback jumps like its on frame by frame, and there's no sound to the recording just great, if i play existing recording before the camcorder broke, it plays back great with audio, so did they try to tweak to ccd back to life, god knows, but they didn,t test it before it left, so its back down the long road of getting it repaired again, thanks JVC, no camcorder for the festive season, well thats my rant for today.
     
  17. A n d r e w

    A n d r e w
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +242
    Does it do this with old tapes or new recordings? Either way and before you do anything else, I'd try running a head-cleaning cassette through.

    Andrew.
     
  18. Threemonkeys

    Threemonkeys
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bacup
    Ratings:
    +9
    Old recording on existing tape plays clear, and audio perfect, using free space on tape tried new recording, picture jumping no audio, tried spare tape exactly the same, picture jumping, no audio, if you record over previous recording, when it skips you see a thin band of the old recording in various parts of the screen.
     
  19. A n d r e w

    A n d r e w
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +242
    Well, I'd definitely try a head-cleaning tape first to see if that works. Try recording on a brand new tape, too. It sounds like there could be an alignment problem, but I'd do everything you can to rule out a dirty record head first. Better than not seeing it again until January.
     
  20. Threemonkeys

    Threemonkeys
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bacup
    Ratings:
    +9
    Thanks for your replies Andrew, i will get a tape head cleaner and new tape and try that, nothing ventured nothing gained.
     
  21. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,303
    Anyone who has one of these might like to know that the claim deadline has been extended again to 30th June 2009.
     
  22. brmanuk

    brmanuk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks for the update GaryB. I've had this problem for years and only looked into it today. Came across the past dates and thought I'd missed my chance for a free repair until I came across your post!:thumbsup:
     
  23. Loafingwafu

    Loafingwafu
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bath, Somerset
    Ratings:
    +4
    They're still honouring this repair. Just phoned up today for a unit I purchased in America and they are collecting it this Friday.

    Top marks to JVC support. :thumbsup:
     
  24. jaimebautista

    jaimebautista
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gary buenas tardes, soy de Oaxaca; México tengo el mismo problema con mi GZ-MC500 "lens cap". Es una cámara que compre hace 3 años y hace un mes marca este error. Puedes ayudarme?

    Gracias


     
  25. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,671
    Jaime......you would need to post in english please.
     
  26. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,303
    A bit of Google translate on that gives:
    ---
    Gary good afternoon, I'm from Oaxaca, Mexico have the same problem with my GZ-MC500 "lens cap". It's a camera you purchase 3 years ago and a month ago brand this error. Can you help?

    Thanks
    ---

    Hopefully an English reply is OK.

    As you may notice from a similar question further up the thread, the MC500 is a 3 CCD camera and didn't use the same CCD as the models listed on the JVC website. If it's failed, it will be for a reason unrelated to the CCD problem.

    The camera will give the Lens Cap warning for any fault that blanks the picture, so although it may look like the same fault, the cause will be different.
     
  27. joecov

    joecov
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +14
    guys,

    thanks for this thread, I have just spoken to them and they coming to pickup my Gr-dx97 this friday, which is great.

    Its an old camera now but I only got about 3-4 months out of it when it was bought.

    So anyone with this error give them a call, they were very helpful.

    :clap:
     
  28. Gal

    Gal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +0
    Their new number is 08453108000
     
  29. reba

    reba
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi only just found this as new to forum..do you know if the repair is still valid & free? i bought it in 2005 but hadnt used it after 2006.thank you Reba.
     
  30. zeddd

    zeddd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem on my GZ-MG500
     

Share This Page

Loading...