1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Jvc 42pd30

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Dave777, Jul 11, 2003.

  1. Dave777

    Dave777
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +8
    A local dealer has been plugging the new JVC PD42D30 to me. Its very wife friendly with twin tuners, teletext, speakers etc and is genuine a 1024x768 panel or so he said!

    Does any have any more info or links to reviews yet or is it too new!

    Cheers

    Dave
     
  2. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,266
  3. Dave777

    Dave777
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +8
    Nice to see that it really is a 1024x768 panel. Looks interesting. The picture from an aerial feed thru the tuner box was great. But I didn't see it fed anything else.

    Cheers

    Dave
     
  4. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,266
    If you like the picture from the tuner box, you'll be amazed by the picture from DVD. It's much better as DIST works better with these sources.
     
  5. Dave777

    Dave777
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +8
    Gary have you got one of these then, or have you just seen a demo? If you have do you mind giving me your thoughts.

    Cheers

    Dave
     
  6. Deron

    Deron
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Wow, I just stumbled across this whilst looking at Letsbuyit.com . It looks gorgeous...

    Any news on the resolution...?

    I'm interested in how it will display PAL...I know the resolution claims 1024x768, but is that true?

    If so it'd be great for pc's. I wonder if it would be suitable for hi def material?

    I don't really know much about this technology, but I was after an allin1 plasma solution that was user friendly. The pana 6 series in the stand had initially caught my eye, but this looks just as good.

    A review would be great...

    It's also slightly cheaper at Electrocentre who supply Letsbuyit.
     
  7. kocl

    kocl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    PORTUGAL
    Ratings:
    +13
    Aa time ago i watch the jvc and looks fabolous.
    but i tried to obtain more information from jvc, about contrast, input signals, and they never answered.
     
  8. vanwel

    vanwel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    *bump*

    Any reviews available yet?

    I looked at the spec sheet on the dutch JVC site and was a little bit :confused: about a few things they stated:

    "NTSC weergave"

    >>> "NTSC display" (I don't know a whole lot about PAL and NTSC, but shouldn't all devices be able to display an NTSC source? I mean, if I play an R1 dvd, does my Dutch PAL telly complain?)


    "D.I.S.T. (...) Normale interlaced signalen worden omgezet in een progressive signaal om het beste uit progressive scanning te halen. Hierdoor kunnen de beelden beter worden afgetast."

    >>> "Normal, interlaced signals are transformed into a progressive signal to get the best out of progressive scanning. As a result, the pictures can be scanned better."
    (Well, that's a little bit vague, isn't it? And what kind of conclusion can i derive from this? Does the panel have it's own progressive scan device, which would make my Arcam 88p obsolete (not in terms of quality, one might assume!)?


    And as last: In the list of properties of the displays it says "NTSC progressive".
    (Okay, so..... what does this mean? Does it do it's own progressive thing as I assumed before, but only for NTSC sources? Or does it only accept NTSC progressive from my Arcam and won't it display a PAL progressive output from my player?)

    As I mentioned in the beginning of this post, me is confused!!! Can someone clear this whole thing up for me?
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Anyone know whose glass jvc use? It sure ain't their own, that might give an indication of likely performance.
     
  10. kocl

    kocl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    PORTUGAL
    Ratings:
    +13
    I think the 42 models use Nec panels.
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I can't find a NEC 42" panel with that resolution, I think i'd look at Fujitsu as the likely source. their 1024x1024 panel is actually xga, with 'software interpolation' to the higher res, so I gather. I'll get my son to count the pixels one wet weekend perhaps! I'd prefer the panel without the software bit myself, it was done to make it compatible with japanese HDTV, then the goalposts were moved, and it happened another way. Hence the number of well priced panels with the technology. All very reasonable, it must be said. Same true of NEC of course, if that's who is making it, it could be good.
     
  12. Dave777

    Dave777
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +8
    My dealer said it was NEC glass. They are a Fujitsu dealer aswell I think so I guess he should know?

    Cheers

    Dave
     
  13. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Who's your dealer? I'm sure Nexnix would know the answer, I've worked for one or two who'd say anything for a sale...
     
  14. Diapason

    Diapason
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +7
    Doesn't the NEC 42MP4 have the resolution quoted?

    Si
     
  15. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,583
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +270
    Indeed it does.

    Steve
     
  16. Dave777

    Dave777
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +8
    Its www.avensys.co.uk but their website isn't finished. The guy I spoke to seemed knowledgeable. A step up from dixons etc!

    They are quite new I think. Nexnix/av-sales still seem top for info etc.

    Cheers

    Dave
     
  17. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Sorry guys, but all my info says NEC 42" panels are in fact 852x480. And I hardly think the JVC is based on anything newer than the MP4, which is decidedly outperformed by the new VP4. A rather hard to find unit, it's £3850 or so but can come with a 3 yr warranty at nominal extra cost. The confusion may arise because they are listed by the UK distributor as XGA, but this is not so. I have installed one, and they are W-VGA. So I ask the question again, or should we question the actual resolution of the JVC glass.
     
  18. jason t

    jason t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    nexnix have nec plasma advertised on thier website which they claim is 1024 x 768

    jason
     
  19. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Not the one I've seen, in company with the UK distributor's rep,spoke to him on the phone earlier today too.
     
  20. jason t

    jason t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    thats strange i spoke to kevin at nex today to arrange a demo for tomorrow and he told me they had a 1024 x 768 plasma on show till friday :confused: :confused:
    oh well perhaps thats saved me a journey
    jason
     
  21. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I think the confusion is caused by Stelges, the uk distributor. They list it as XGA, but it's simply not. It was built to kick the PW5 into touch. Whether it can do it against the PW6 remains to be seen, but against the PW5 stuff the resolution, same signal precisely, (VGA distribution, DVD and freeview, JS converter) it was clearly a winner. But, it's 852x480, there is no doubt in my mind.
     
  22. vanwel

    vanwel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ehm, anyone bothered to check the JVC website??? I checked the UK en NL website and they both clearly state that the 35" is W-VGA and that the 42" is XGA, 1024x768.
    Case closed me thinks...
     
  23. kocl

    kocl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    PORTUGAL
    Ratings:
    +13
    It still a good option against pio and pana, or is just to forget.
     
  24. Diapason

    Diapason
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +7
    One of my (hi-fi and AV) dealers here in Dublin reckons the NEC is a clear winner (although he hasn't seen the Panasonic 6 yet I don't think). It's the one he's recommending over the Pioneer or Panny 5. Apart from picture quality, which he thinks is the best of the bunch, NEC also seems to provide better backup, which is certainly an important issue to me. He tells a few horror stories of awful backup from Panasonic, with faulty units not being replaced for months. I wouldn't fancy that...

    Of course, I forgot to ask which NEC he was referring to. I was reading a shoot out review on some website yesterday though, (can't remember where) which had very high regard for the MP and less for the VP. I'm getting confused again...

    Si
     
  25. RossC

    RossC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've seen a NEC VP4 and it's very nice indeed - was as good as the 5 series (I'm thinking of having one instead of the buzzing Tosh that has gone back) with much better connectivity and more picture control options. Definately worth considering imho.
     
  26. Diapason

    Diapason
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +7
    Any Panny-5-style flicker on the VP4?

    Si
     
  27. RossC

    RossC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not that I noticed, but I only really saw it on the Tosh/Panny when taking a rather sideways view of the screen...
     
  28. vanwel

    vanwel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anybody have the answers to one of my previous posts???

     
  29. vanwel

    vanwel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    bump
     
  30. vanwel

    vanwel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    c'mon, surely someone with an answer!?!?
     

Share This Page

Loading...