1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

JVC 1920 *1080 LCOS Projector

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by meansizzler, Aug 15, 2005.

  1. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    Anyone seen one of these in person, I went the the videoforum 2005 back in ferbruary/march it was I think and JVC has one of these in there booth, was outputting at 1920 * 1080P on an 80" screen, i went right up to the screen and there was no pixalation, it comes bundles with a scaler, has a price tag of £15000...., Amazing Image...


    http://pro.jvc.com/prof/Attributes/press_res.jsp?tree=&model_id=MDL101489&itempath=&feature_id=08
     
  2. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    AIUI these are being used in some post-production houses to allow previews of digitally post-produced movies. Sony's Qualia 004 (the front projector based on the same technology as the 70" RP Qualia 006) - which is also a reflective LCD design - is aimed at the same market.
     
  3. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Qualia is either now launched or to be launched imminately in the UK. PJ Hifi I are likely to have one of the first Sonys. They have also had this JVC thing in and spoke highly of it. Speak to Elliot later in the week when he returns from holiday. He knows both, as does Gordon I think.
     
  4. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    Had a play with a Barco DP100 at work and I have to say its indistinguishable from 35mm at normal viewing distances. ( it was being fed uncompressed 35mm film scans but even so).

    Technician friend of mine says that although the DP100 is great ...the qualia gives it a run for its money in the right circumstances. DP100 is $100k I believe.
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
    I did a short review of the HD2K from JVC on this forum. You should be able to find it somewhere. It has its.....idiosyncracies.......It's also now re-branded with other scalers by other manufacturers....ie Vidikron and soon Meridian

    Gordon
     
  6. Rob20

    Rob20
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,503
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +279
    The big question is, does it accept 1920 by 1080p at 24/50/60hz?
     
  7. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
    The head unit only runs at 50Hz or 60Hz nput frequency. It doesn't auto detect it though so you need to go in to its set up menu and change the configuration. To this end The Vidikron unit for instance has its partnering scaler always outputting 1080p@60.......The JVC paterning scaler is configureable to output either 50 or 60 Hz but again it's not automatic...you need to change its output characteristics then go to the head unit and change it.......

    I tested the HD2K at PJ HiFi when they had it in to show a client. The Lumagen processors have a custom 1080p output timing designed specifically to work with the HD2K....and it does....

    Gordon
     
  8. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    Is that the 006 RP or the 004 FP ?
     
  9. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
  10. sgauntlett

    sgauntlett
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have access to one and can drive it 1080p50 and 1080p60, using an HD-SDI converter box from Doremi.

    Pictures are cracking :D

    Also, full resolution not compromised by the converter box sold with the JVC 2K which contains a Faroudja chip scaler which is limited to 1440 horizontal resolution.
     

Share This Page

Loading...