Just when you thought you had heard every daft Panny question..................

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by lumpsucker, Nov 18, 2002.

1. lumpsucker

lumpsucker

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +15
    Firstly, I am a newbie on this forum so I offer my apologies for asking questions that may have been asked elsewhere but I have done loads of searches and many of my questions have been answered. What remains are questions that I still don’t know the answer to or am unclear about.

My Plasma status is that I have just convinced (told) the missus that I am having one of these beasts bloody soon and I have narrowed down my options to either the Panny 50” or the Pioneer 50”.

My first round of questions involves the Panasonic 50 inch option so here goes :

1) What is the difference between the TH-50 PHW5B and the TH-50PHD5BX ?

2) Can you plug in both the new slimline tuner and the optional DVI terminal board?

3) Is there a working VGA input through the tuner and/or directly to the panel?

4) Is it dual or single scan or do the 2 different 50” models differ in this respect?

5) Are there any lip sync problems via the tuner, particularly using the RGB input for SKY digibox and DVD use?

6) ‘What Home Cinema’ currently give a Hertz indication in their buyers guide. It’s either 50 or 100 or not mentioned(there is no reference to Panny 50”) I thought there was no such differentiator when referring to Plasma panels but if there is, then how do the Panny 50 inchers rate?

7) Does the slimline tuner give the panny a picture-in-picture and split picture/Teletext capability. In the new Panasonic Brochure it says that all the T(tau) range has this capability but it didn’t mention the Plasma specifically.